基础设施:使我们的系统和服务适应气候变化

2 一分钟阅读

更新于: 2021年1月30日 19:46:07 GMT

我们可以把“基础设施”看成 组成一个社会的实体和组织的系统和服务 。 这包括从旅行和通信到诸如水和能源等基本资源的分配.。 这些网络是紧密相连的,意味着一个系统的任何中断都会使其他系统产生连锁反应 。我们不能承担失去这些服务,所以让我们探索如何使它们适应迅速的气候变化。

我们如何建设一个更具气候适应力的社会?

1. 气候智能设计

如果我们要建设有气候适应力 的基础设施,我们首先应该从头开始 。对于一些基本的服务,比如医疗,我们可以开始在最急需的地方建医院和诊所以确保每个人都能享受到基本的医疗服务 。例如,在一些易受洪水影响的地区如孟加拉国,一些社区现在使用“流动医院”。我们还可以招募更多的护士和医生,向他们提供关于气候改变对健康的风险以及如何治疗这些风险的训练以更新我们的医疗系统

Image of 流动医院

流动医院

下一步是利用气候智能设计构想,如选择吸收和储存大量热能的建筑材料,以自然调节室内温度 。 气候智能设计也可能涉及全新的技术, 例如随日光移动的外部建筑阴影 或抗台风的房屋,可以承受高达每小时180公里的台风

2. 改装

为了节省时间和金钱,另一个选择是升级我们已经拥有的基础设施。这叫做改装 。 改装可以像安装热传感器或把我们的屋顶、道路和铁路刷成白色以反射阳光一样简单。 合理的话,白色屋顶可以反映80%的太阳能,而黑色屋顶只能反射5-10%

Image of 气候智能设计

气候智能设计

在前一章中,我们探讨了如果我们要适应不断变化的气候,可持续的水管理将是如何至关重要的。通过调整我们现有的供水网络,大部分都能做到。 只需修理漏水管,就可以防止20-30%经过处理的水的流失

Image of 修理漏水管

修理漏水管

此外,升级我们的系统和服务可以在使我们健康方面发挥重要作用 。例如,我们可以通过升级我们的沿海防卫和污水系统处理多余的暴雨 以减少洪灾中疾病的传播

C 绿色基础设施

我们还可以通过为大自然创造更多空间使我们的城市更加绿色。 例如,诸如池塘,公园和林地等自然特色可通过吸收过剩的雨水和降低当地温度来帮助城市应对气候变化。 这些类型的解决方案叫做绿色基础设施, 而不是人为或“灰色”解决方案

Image of 绿色基础设施

绿色基础设施

绿色基础设施也可以改善人们的健康状况。 例如, 已经表明了在城市地区增加植物会使得与热有关的死亡率降低40-90% ,而且这还与降低的压力水平 和更强的社区意识相关

4. 基于自然的解决方法

在更大的规模上,自然栖息地能够提供更能负担得起的和更长期的适应办法

沿海栖息地是一个杰出的例子,因为它们通过将海浪高度平均降低35-71%提供了应对自然灾害的重要的物理防护。他们还吸收和储存碳,防止盐水侵入农田 , 并为大量动植物提供了家园。 例如,拥有健康的红树林的益处比维持这种森林的费用高了10倍 和,比人造海岸防御的费用低了2到5倍

Image of 红树林的益处

红树林的益处

结论

要记住的是,不同地方将经历不同的气候风险 。 这意味着对于如何建立一个具有气候抗御能力的社会没有简单的路线图 。 然而,我们很可能需要结合人为和自然的解决办法,以便维持我们所依赖的基本系统和服务。

前往测验!

Infrastructure: Adapting our Systems and Services to Survive Climate Change

8 minute read

Updated on Fri Apr 30 2021

We can think of “infrastructure” as the physical or organisational systems and services that make up a society. This covers everything from travel and communication to the distribution of basic resources like water and energy. These networks are closely interconnected, meaning any disruption in one system will have knock-on effects for others. We can’t afford to lose these services so let’s explore how we might adapt them to rapid climate change.

How do we build a more climate-resilient society?

1. Climate-smart design

If we want to build climate-resilient infrastructure, our first option is to build it from scratch. For essential services, like healthcare, we can start by making sure that everyone has basic access by building hospitals and clinics where they are most needed. For example, in areas vulnerable to flooding, like Bangladesh, some communities now use ‘floating hospitals’. We can also adapt our healthcare systems by recruiting more nurses and doctors and providing them with training on the health risks of climate change and how to treat them.

Floating Hospitals

The next step is using climate-smart design ideas such as choosing building materials that absorb and store large amounts of heat energy to naturally regulate indoor temperatures. Climate-smart design can also involve entirely new technologies, such as external building shades that move in response to sunlight or typhoon-resistant houses that can withstand wind speeds of up to 180km per hour.

2. Retrofitting

To save time and money, another option is to upgrade the infrastructure we already have. This is called retrofitting. Retrofitting can be as simple as installing heat sensors or painting our roofs, roads and railways white to reflect sunlight. If done properly, a white roof can reflect up to 80% of the sun’s energy, compared to just 5-10% for a black roof.

Climate-smart design

In the previous chapter we looked at how sustainable water management will be vital if we are to adapt to our changing climate. A lot of this can be done by adapting our existing water supply network; simply fixing leaky water pipes could help prevent the loss of 20-30% of treated water!

Fixing Leaky Pipes

Moreover, upgrading our systems and services could play a big role in keeping us healthy too. For example, we can limit the spread of disease during flooding by updating our coastal defences and sewage systems to deal with excess stormwater.

3. Green Infrastructure

We can also make our cities greener by creating more space for nature. For example, natural features, like ponds, parks and woodland can help cities cope with climate change by soaking up excess stormwater and reducing local temperatures. These types of solutions are called green infrastructure, as opposed to human-made or ‘grey’ solutions.

Green Infrastructure

Why is green infrastructure useful?


Green infrastructure can also improve people’s health. For example, increased plant life in urban areas has been shown to reduce heat-related death rates by 40-90% and is also linked to reduced stress levels and a stronger sense of community.

4. Nature-based solutions

At a larger scale, natural habitats can provide more affordable and long-term adaptation options.

How do coastal habitats (think coral reefs, mangroves and seagrass beds) protect against natural disasters?


Coastal habitats are a brilliant example as they provide important physical protection against natural disasters by reducing wave height by an average of 35-71%. They also absorb and store carbon, prevent the intrusion of saltwater on farmland, and are home to a rich array of plants and animals. For example, the benefits of having healthy mangrove forests are 10 times higher than the costs of maintaining them and 2 to 5 times cheaper than human-made coastal defences.

Benefits of Mangroves

Conclusion

It is important to remember that different places will experience different climatic risks. This means there is no simple roadmap for how to build a climate-resilient society. However, it is likely we will need a combination of both human-made and nature-based solutions in order to maintain the basic systems and services that we rely on.

Next Chapter