粮食、健康和水:应对气候变化

2 一分钟阅读

更新于: 2020年12月14日13:34:47 GMT

我们的健康与我们的星球健康密切相连。 例如,大气层二氧化碳的上升与我们种植的作物 中蛋白质、铁和锌的含量较低有关。 事实上,我们整个粮食生产系统受到气候变化的威胁, 从管理水供应到无法预测的天气和季节规律。 如果不进行适应,气候变化到2050年全球作物产量可减少高达5-30%

Image of 为什么农业需要调整

为什么农业需要调整

1. 调整农业

在世界各地,耕作可能看起来非常不同――从在湿地沼泽里采集蔓越莓的做法到从骆驼生产牛奶 。 这意味着农民可以适应 的方式多种多样。

即使是简单的改变也能产生影响。 实际上,农民们通过改变种植时间,农作物品种和管理灌溉来提高 与目前产量相比的 7-15%的收成

Image of 改变收获时间

改变收获时间

农业适应还可能涉及影响农场经营方式的更大的变化——从转向可持续的土地管理方法 到为农作物购买保险。无论大小,这些适应性的选择有助于使农场更有弹力 地适应变化,不管是否与气候有关。

Image of 自适应选项

自适应选项

2. 管理供水服务

当我们考虑气候变化――海平面上升、风暴、洪水、干旱――的影响时, 融化冰川——你可以开始识别一个水(或更科学的, ’水文学’) 主题

Image of 气候与水

气候与水

这些事件将影响我们获得安全饮用水以及我们种植粮食的能力。因此,无论是粮食生产还是健康,我们都需要通过更可持续地管理我们的水供应来适应这些变化。这意味着重新思考我们的水从何而来,我们如何运输它,以及我们如何在日常生活中使用它

在萨赫勒地区的一个独特的例子中,20多个国家聚集在一起创建了“绿色长城”——一个8000公里长的农民主导的重新造林项目。该项目旨在种植更多植被,减少长期干旱的风险。作为这一计划的一部分,农民们已经适应了在旱季挖坑蓄水的方式。这不仅减少了水资源短缺的影响,而且提高了当地的农作物产量,并鼓励景观自然再生

Image of 通过再造林适应

通过再造林适应

3. 利用研究与技术

研究和技术也将是适应气候变化的重要工具。 事实上,有一个专门的科学领域致力于改进农业做法,减少农业对环境的影响,确保人人都有足够的食物。 在领域内,农民个人可以通过分享在不同地区最有效的适应措施来帮助向相邻地区传播信息。

Image of 友好的农民

友好的农民

如果我们想让这些目标成为现实,我们需要资助这项科学。实际上,在农业适应研究上每投资一美元,发展中地区在长期内可以获得3.7至5.2美元的回报

基因改造作物(GE)是农业研究如何帮助我们适应气候变化的一个杰出例子

GE技术已经生产出了能够抵抗高温、缺水和疾病爆发的作物

我们还可以利用技术来帮助我们预测未来。这就是早期预警系统(EWS)派上用场的地方。EWS使用历史数据来预测未来的灾害,如洪水和热浪,使我们能够提前告知人们气候风险。除了告诉我们如何适应天气敏感的活动,如农业, EWS也有健康益处。例如,在美国,使用EWS来预测热浪,当比较两个类似的事件时,死亡人数减少了50%。

Image of 使用早期预警系统可以使因热浪死亡的人数减少50%

使用早期预警系统可以使因热浪死亡的人数减少50%

前进

我们已经认识到,我们需要人、技术和研究来帮助我们调整食物和水的供应,以适应不断变化的气候。如果不这样做,我们不仅在拿一个不健康的星球冒险,我们也在拿我们自己的健康冒险

下一章

Food, Health and Water: Coping With Climate change

9 minute read

Updated on Fri Apr 30 2021

Our health is closely connected to our planet’s health. For example, higher atmospheric CO₂ has been linked to lower levels of protein, iron and zinc in the crops we grow. In fact, our entire food production system is threatened by climate change, from managing water supplies to unpredictable weather and seasonal patterns. Without adaptation, climate change could reduce global crop yields by as much as 5-30% by 2050.

Why agriculture needs to adapt

1. Adapting Agriculture

Across the world, farming can look very different - from harvesting cranberries on wetland bogs to producing milk from camels. This means there is a huge variety of ways farmers can adapt.

How might agricultural yields change (% increase or decrease) if farmers chose to adapt their way of farming in response to climate change?


Even simple changes can make a difference. Indeed, farmers who adapt by changing planting times, crop varieties, and managing water supplies could increase yields by 7-15% compared to present production rates.

Changing Harvest Times

Agricultural adaptation can also involve much bigger changes that affect how the farm is run - from switching to sustainable land management methods to buying insurance for crops. Big or small, these adaptive choices help make the farm more resilient to change, be that climate-related or not.

Adaptive options

What challenges do you think farmers face when adapting to climate change? Tick the answers you think represent the biggest hurdles


2. Managing Water Supplies

When we think about the impacts of climate change - rising sea-levels, storms, floods, droughts, melting glaciers - you might start to recognise a watery (or more scientifically, ‘hydrological’) theme.

Climate and Water

These events will impact our access to safe drinking water as well as our ability to grow food. Therefore, for both food production and health, we need to adapt to these changes by managing our water supplies more sustainably. This means rethinking where our water comes from, how we transport it, and how we use it in day to day life.

In a unique example from the Sahel, more than 20 countries have come together to create the ‘Great Green Wall’ - an 8,000km long farmer-led reforestation project. The project aims to plant more vegetation and reduce the risk of prolonged drought. As part of this, farmers have adapted by digging grids of planting pits which collect and store water through the dry season. Not only does this reduce the impact of water shortages, but it improves local crop yields and encourages the landscape to regenerate naturally.

Adapting through reforestation

3 . Making use of research and technology

Research and technology will also be important tools for adapting to climate change. Indeed, there is a whole field of science dedicated to improving agricultural practices, reducing the environmental impact of farming, and making sure there is enough food for everyone. From there, individual farmers can help spread the word to their neighbours by sharing what adaptations work best in different regions.

Friendly Farmers

If we want to make these goals a reality, we need to fund this science. Indeed, for every US dollar invested in research on agricultural adaptation, developing regions could gain $3.7 to $5.2 back in the long-run.

Genetically Engineered (GE) crops are a brilliant example of how agricultural research can help us adapt to climate change.

Can you spot which of these climate-ready crops has not been produced?


GE technology has produced crops that can withstand higher temperatures, water scarcity and disease outbreaks.

We can also use technology to help us predict the future. This is where Early Warning Systems (‘EWS’) come in handy. EWS uses historic data to predict future hazards like floods and heatwaves, allowing us to inform people of climate risks ahead of time. As well as informing us on how to adapt weather-sensitive activities like farming, EWS can have health benefits too. In the USA, for example, using an EWS to predict heatwaves resulted in 50% fewer deaths when comparing two similar events.

Using Early Warning Systems can reduce deaths from heatwaves by 50%

Moving Forward

We have learnt that we need people, technology, and research to help us adapt our food and water supplies to a changing climate. If not, we don’t just risk an unhealthy planet but we risk our own health too.

Next Chapter