الغذاء والصحة والمياه: التكيف مع تغير المناخ

9 minute read

تم التحديث في Fri Apr 30 2021

ترتبط صحتنا ارتباطاً وطيداً بصحة كوكبنا.على سبيل المثال، أكتُشفت علاقة بين ارتفاع ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي وبين انخفاض مستويات البروتين والحديد و الزنك في المحاصيل التي نزرعها. في الحقيقة، إن نظامنا للإنتاج الغذائي مهدد بالكامل بسبب تغير المناخ, بدءاً من إدارة إمدادات المياه إلى الأنماط المناخية والموسمية غير المتوقعة. دون التكيف، يمكن لتغير المناخ أن يقلل غلة المحاصيل العالمية بما يقدر بـ 5-30% بحلول عام 2020.

لما تحتاج الزراعة إلى التكيف

1. تكييف الزراعة

في جميع أنحاء العالم، تبدو الزراعة مختلفة - بدءاً من قطف التوت البري في مستنقعات الأراضي الرطبة الى إنتاج الحليب من الجمال. مما يعني بأن هناك العديد من الطرق المتنوعة التي تمكّن المزارعين من التكيف.

كيف يمكن للعائد الزراعي أن يتغير (% زيادة أو نقصان) في حال اختار المزارعون تكييف طريقتهم في الزراعة للاستجابة لتغير المناخ؟


حتى التغييرات البسيطة يمكن أن تصنع الفرق. في الحقيقة يمكن للمزارعين الذين يتكيفون عن طريق تغيير أوقات الزراعة، تنويع المحاصيل وإدارة موارد المياه زيادة العائدات بنسبة 7-15% مقارنة بمعدلات الإنتاج الحالية.

تغيير أوقات الحصاد

التكيف الزراعي يمكن أن يتضمن تغيرات كبرى تؤثر على كيفية إدارة المزرعة- من الانتقال إلى الأساليب المستدامة لإدارة الأراضي إلى شراء التأمين على المحاصيل. كبيرة أم صغيرة، خيارات التكيف هذه تساعد في جعل المزرعة أكثر مرونة للتغير، سواءً كان الامر مرتبط بالمناخ أم لا.

خيارات تكيفية

باعتقادك، ما التحديات التي يواجهها المزارعون عند التكيف مع تغير المناخ؟ اختر الإجابات التي تعتقد أنها تمثل أكبر العقبات


2. إدارة إمدادات المياه

عندما نفكر بآثار تغير المناخ - ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر - العواصف - الفيضانات - الجفاف - ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية - قد تبدأ في التعرف على نمط مائي (أو بشكل علمي، ‘هيدرولوجي’).

المناخ و المياه

ستؤثر هذه الأحداث على إمكانية حصولنا على مياه صالحة للشرب وكذلك على قدرتنا على زراعة الأغذية. لذلك، بالنسبة لكل من إنتاج الغذاء والصحة، نحن بحاجة إلى التكيف مع هذه التغييرات من خلال إدارة إمداداتنا بالمياه بشكل أكثر استدامةوهذا يعني إعادة التفكير من أين يأتي الماء، وكيف ننقله، وكيف نستخدمه في الحياة اليومية.

في مثال فريد من الساحل، اجتمعت أكثر من 20 دولة لإنشاء ما يسمى بـ«الجدار الأخضر العظيم» وهو عبارة عن مشروع لإعادة تشجير بطول 8,000 كيلومتر ومدار من قبل مزارعين. يهدف هذا المشروع لزيادة الغطاء النباتي والحد من خطر الجفاف المطول. وكجزء من ذلك، قام المزارعون بالتكيف عن طريق حفر شبكات الغرس والتي تمكّن من جمع وتخزين المياه خلال فترة موسم الجفاف ولا يقلل هذا من أثر نقص المياه فقط، وإنما يطور عائدات المحاصيل المحلية ويحفز المناظر الطبيعية على التجدد بشكل طبيعي.

التكيف من خلال إعادة التشجير

3. الاستفادة من البحوث والتكنولوجيا

وستكون البحوث والتكنولوجيا أيضا أداتين هامتين للتكيف مع تغير المناخ. وبالفعل، هناك مجال علمي كامل مكرس لتحسين الممارسات الزراعية والحد من الأثر البيئي للزراعة والتأكد من وجود ما يكفي من الغذاء للجميع. ومن هناك، يمكن للمزارعين الأفراد أن يساعدوا في نقل الأخبار إلى جيرانهم عن طريق مشاركة أفضل الممارسات التكيفية في مختلف المناطق.

مزارعون ودودون

إذا رغبنا في تحويل هذه الأهداف إلى حقيقة، نحن بحاجة إلى تمويل هذا العلم. في الواقع، مقابل كل دولار أميركي يُستثمر في البحث عن التكيّف الزراعي، يمكن للمناطق النامية أن تسترد 3.7$ إلى 5.2$ على المدى الطويل.

تعتبر المحاصيل المعدلة وراثيا (GE) مثال رائع على أنه كيف للبحوث الزراعية أن تساعدنا على التكيف مع تغير المناخ.

هل بإمكانك اكتشاف أي من هذه المحاصيل الجاهزة مناخيًا لم تُنتج حقا؟


أنتجت الهندسة الوراثية محاصيل قادرة على تحمل درجات الحرارة العالية وشح المياه وتفشي الأمراض.

يمكننا أيضًا استخدام التكنولوجيا لمساعدتنا على التنبؤ بالمستقبل. هذا هو المكان الذي تصبح فيه أنظمة الإنذار المبكر ('EWS') مفيدة. ويستخدم النظام بيانات تاريخية للتنبؤ بالمخاطر المستقبلية مثل الفيضانات وموجات الحرارة، مما يسمح لنا ابلاغ الناس بمخاطر المناخ في سابق الوقت. بالإضافة إلى إطلاعنا على كيفية تكييف الأنشطة الحساسة للطقس مثل الزراعة، يمكن أن يكون لنظام الإنذار المبكر فوائد صحية أيضا. ففي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، على سبيل المثال، أدى استخدام نظام الإنذار المبكر للتنبؤ بموجات الحرارة إلى انخفاض الوفيات بنسبة 50٪ عند مقارنة حدثين متماثلين.

استخدام أنظمة الإنذار المبكر يمكن أن يقلل أعداد الوفيات الناتجة عن الموجات الحرارية بنسبة 50%

المضي قدماً

لقد تعلمنا أننا بحاجة إلى الناس، التكنولوجيا والبحوث لمساعدتنا على تكييف إمداداتنا من الغذاء والمياه مع المناخ المتغير. ولولا ذلك، فإننا لا نخاطر فقط بكوكب غير صحي ولكننا نخاطر بصحتنا أيضاً.

الفصل التالي

Food, Health and Water: Coping With Climate change

9 minute read

Updated on Fri Apr 30 2021

Our health is closely connected to our planet’s health. For example, higher atmospheric CO₂ has been linked to lower levels of protein, iron and zinc in the crops we grow. In fact, our entire food production system is threatened by climate change, from managing water supplies to unpredictable weather and seasonal patterns. Without adaptation, climate change could reduce global crop yields by as much as 5-30% by 2050.

Why agriculture needs to adapt

1. Adapting Agriculture

Across the world, farming can look very different - from harvesting cranberries on wetland bogs to producing milk from camels. This means there is a huge variety of ways farmers can adapt.

How might agricultural yields change (% increase or decrease) if farmers chose to adapt their way of farming in response to climate change?


Even simple changes can make a difference. Indeed, farmers who adapt by changing planting times, crop varieties, and managing water supplies could increase yields by 7-15% compared to present production rates.

Changing Harvest Times

Agricultural adaptation can also involve much bigger changes that affect how the farm is run - from switching to sustainable land management methods to buying insurance for crops. Big or small, these adaptive choices help make the farm more resilient to change, be that climate-related or not.

Adaptive options

What challenges do you think farmers face when adapting to climate change? Tick the answers you think represent the biggest hurdles


2. Managing Water Supplies

When we think about the impacts of climate change - rising sea-levels, storms, floods, droughts, melting glaciers - you might start to recognise a watery (or more scientifically, ‘hydrological’) theme.

Climate and Water

These events will impact our access to safe drinking water as well as our ability to grow food. Therefore, for both food production and health, we need to adapt to these changes by managing our water supplies more sustainably. This means rethinking where our water comes from, how we transport it, and how we use it in day to day life.

In a unique example from the Sahel, more than 20 countries have come together to create the ‘Great Green Wall’ - an 8,000km long farmer-led reforestation project. The project aims to plant more vegetation and reduce the risk of prolonged drought. As part of this, farmers have adapted by digging grids of planting pits which collect and store water through the dry season. Not only does this reduce the impact of water shortages, but it improves local crop yields and encourages the landscape to regenerate naturally.

Adapting through reforestation

3 . Making use of research and technology

Research and technology will also be important tools for adapting to climate change. Indeed, there is a whole field of science dedicated to improving agricultural practices, reducing the environmental impact of farming, and making sure there is enough food for everyone. From there, individual farmers can help spread the word to their neighbours by sharing what adaptations work best in different regions.

Friendly Farmers

If we want to make these goals a reality, we need to fund this science. Indeed, for every US dollar invested in research on agricultural adaptation, developing regions could gain $3.7 to $5.2 back in the long-run.

Genetically Engineered (GE) crops are a brilliant example of how agricultural research can help us adapt to climate change.

Can you spot which of these climate-ready crops has not been produced?


GE technology has produced crops that can withstand higher temperatures, water scarcity and disease outbreaks.

We can also use technology to help us predict the future. This is where Early Warning Systems (‘EWS’) come in handy. EWS uses historic data to predict future hazards like floods and heatwaves, allowing us to inform people of climate risks ahead of time. As well as informing us on how to adapt weather-sensitive activities like farming, EWS can have health benefits too. In the USA, for example, using an EWS to predict heatwaves resulted in 50% fewer deaths when comparing two similar events.

Using Early Warning Systems can reduce deaths from heatwaves by 50%

Moving Forward

We have learnt that we need people, technology, and research to help us adapt our food and water supplies to a changing climate. If not, we don’t just risk an unhealthy planet but we risk our own health too.

Next Chapter