التكيف: ما هو ولماذا نحتاجه؟

16 minute read

تم التحديث في Fri Apr 30 2021

في عالم مثالي، نحن نوقف تغير المناخ في مساره ــ وهذا ما يسمى بالتخفيف. والتخفيف هو أي إجراء يساعد على عكس و إبطاء حدوث تغير المناخ إما عن طريق ما يلي:

  • الحد من انبعاث غازات الاحتباس الحراري أو
  • إزالة غازات الاحتباس الحراري من الغلاف الجوي

طالما أن تغير المناخ قد حدث بالفعل. هذا يعني أن التخفيف ببساطة غير كافٍ، خاصةً بغياب العمل المناخي الوطني أو الدولي على نطاق واسع. لذا فإننا بحاجة للتكيف مع تأثيرات تغير المناخ الحالية والمستقبلية.

التكيف و التخفيف

سؤال: أي من هذه الإجراءات الصديقة للمناخ يفهم بأنها تكيف؟؟


التكيف مع تغير المناخ هو أي إجراء يسمح لنا بالاستمرار في تلبية احتياجاتنا الأساسية (الغذاء، الماء، الصحة، المأوى) من خلال التكيف مع التغيرات المناخية. ويمكن التخطيط للتكيف مسبقاً أو العمل عليه كرد فعل على التغيير، ويتضمن خيارات هامة من جميع صناع القرار بمن فيهم المزارعون، رجال الأعمال، والسياسيون والأفراد. يمكن لهذه الخيارات أن تساعد في الحد من الآثار السلبية لتغير المناخ أو تحقيق الاستفادة القصوى من فوائده المحتملة، مثل مواسم زراعة أطول لبعض المحاصيل.

عندما نقرر كيف تكيف، نحن بحاجة إلى توخي الحذر لتجنب سوء التكيف. حيث هنا، توصلنا الخيارات التي نتخذها الآن إلى زيادة المخاطر في المستقبل. مثلًا، تركيب المزيد من أجهزة التكييف لتبريد المساحات الداخلية ليس بالحل المثالي إذا ارتفعت درجة الحرارة الخارجية دون قصد من خلال انبعاثات أعلى من الغازات الدفيئة. لهذا، من المهم تثمين أي من الخيارات يمكن أن تكون مستدامة على المدى البعيد.

سوء التكيف هو أي إجراء يزيد المشكلة سوءاً على المدى الطويل

هل يجب علينا التكيف؟

أي من هذه الخيارات برأيك هي أفضل طريقة للمضي قدماً في معالجة تغير المناخ؟


قد تعتقد أن التكيف يبدو كالاستسلام نوعًا ما. أليس علينا تركيز كل جهودنا لوقف تغير المناخ من الأساس؟ حسناً، للتكيف بعض الفوائد الهامة:

  • منع وقوع الخسائر مستقبلاً (مثل الأضرار التي تلحق بالمباني ، الآفات الصحية)
  • توفير فرص إقتصادية
  • خلق فوائد بيئية واجتماعية أوسع

أساسًا، يمكن أن يوفر لنا التكيف بطرق ذكية صمام الأمان بينما يساعد في تقليل الضرر المحتمل الذي تتنبأ به النماذج المناخية. لشرح هذا، لنلقي نظرة على علم المناخ وشكوكه. في عام 2014، تنبأت النماذج أنه إذا أهملنا الجهود لتخفيف انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري، فإن المعدل العالمي لدرجة حرارة السطح ستزداد من 3.7 إلى 4.8 درجة مئوية ب 2100 مقارنةً بمستويات ما قبل الصناعة. مع ذلك، فإن هذه النماذج لم تأخذ بعين الاعتبار تباين البيانات، وإذا قمنا بإضافة الشكوك المناخية إلى المعادلة، يزداد نطاق الحرارة من 2.5 إلى 7.8 درجة مئوية.

مع الأخذ في الاعتبار عدم اليقين في نماذجنا

وبعبارة أخرى، كلما قل ما نفعله حيال تخفيف (وقف) تغير المناخ، أصبح الكوكب أكثر سخونة وأكثر صعوبة في التكيف. يمكننا ايضاً قلب هذه المعادلة حيث كلما ازددنا نجاحاً في التكيف مع تغير المناخ، قلت الآثار المحتملة على مجتمعاتنا. ألقي نظرة على القسم الأزرق في الرسم البياني أدناه، حيث يوضح كيف يمكن للتكيف أن يساعدنا على التعامل مع نطاق أوسع من الظروف المناخية.

كيف يمكن للتكيف أن يقلل من تأثرنا بتغير المناخ؟

في الحقيقة، قد تتفاجئ بأن العديد من الأشخاص قد تكيفوا بالفعل - بدءًا من الحدائق الماطرة الصغيرة التي تجمع مياه العواصف إلى نقل مجتمعات بأكملها مثل جزيرة دي جان تشارلز في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

لذا، إن السؤال المهم ليس هل يجب أن نتكيف ولكن كيف يمكن أن نتكيف - ماذا يجب أن يكون مقدار وسرعة استجابتنا؟

يتفق معظم العلماء على حاجتنا لكل من التخفيف و التكيف للوقوف في وجه تغير المناخ. يكمن الجزء الصعب في تحقيق التوازن بين الاثنين نظرًا لمحدودية الوقت والمصادر.

وفي حال تم ذلك بفعالية، فإن النهج المتوازن يعتبر أرخص خيار على مر الزمان. تفقد الرسم البياني أدناه لمعرفة كيف يمكن لهذا ان يعمل.

ما الأرخص؟ التكيف، التخفيف أم كلاهما معًا؟

مع القليل من التخطيط، يمكننا اختيار الحلول الذكية التي من خلالها يُدمج النهجين معًا. تعتبر إدارة التربة مثالاً جيداً على ذلك حيث بإمكان التربة السليمة تخزين الكربون (يساعد في عملية التخفيف) و العمل كعازل لمواجهة تغير المناخ عن طريق منع الإنزلاقات الأرضية وتحسين تصريف التربة (أي: التكيف).

الحلول الذكية تعالج كلا المشكلتين معاً

متى وكيف ينبغي لنا أن نتكيف؟

هنالك طرق مختلفة للتكيف، لذا دعونا نستكشف بعضاً من خياراتنا:

1. يلزم «التكيف التفاعلي» أو «التعديل التحديثي» عندما تكون آثار المناخ محسوسة بالفعل. يعتبر ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر مثالاً جيداً على عواقب تغير المناخ التي قد تكيفنا معها بالفعل.

التكيف التفاعلي

2. «التكيف الاحترازي» هو عندما نختار التكيف قبل أن نشعر بعواقب تغير المناخ. في بعض الحالات، يمكن أن يكون ذلك أكثر فعالية وأسهل وأقل تكلفة من القيام به في وقت لاحق

التكيف الاحترازي

3. التكيف «منعدم» أو «ضعيف الندم» هي حلول تخلق فوائد فورية. ومن الأمثلة على الخيارات المنخفضة الندم جمع مياه الأمطار أو عدم البناء في مناطق شديدة التعرض لخطر الفيضانات (يبدو أمرا بديهيًا لكنه لا يزال يحدث!).

تكيف منعدم / قليل الندم

لنفترض بأن منزلك أصبح أكثر حرارة خلال أشهر الصيف وقد قررت أن تثبت طلاء سقف عاكس ونوافذ إضافية. هل تعتقد أن هذا...


ماذا سيكلف؟

سؤال جيد - يقدر البنك الدولي أن التكيف إلى 2 درجة مئوية سوف يكلف 70-100 مليار دولار أمريكي سنوياً ما بين عامي 2010 -2050. في حين، ستختلف التكاليف والفوائد باختلاف الموقع وبمقدار ما نختاره للاستثمار في المقام الأول.

أحد الأشياء التي يميل الباحثون للاتفاق عليها هي أن أرخص طريقة للتكيف هي البدء حالًا. حيث استمرار تغير المناخ، يزيد من تكلفة التكيف ونبدأ بفقد الخيارات مما يعرضنا لتكبد تكاليف وأضرار أكبر. تسمى التكاليف الناجمة عن أضرار تغير المناخ التي لا يمكن التكيف معها‘الأضرار المتبقية’.

كيفية التعامل مع تكاليف التغير المناخي

مع ازدياد الحاجة للتكيف، يتفق ما يقارب نصف أكبر الأعمال في العالم على قدرة حلول التكيّف على خلق أرباح تزيد عن 236 مليار دولار أمريكي على المدى البعيد والمتوسط. هذا بدوره يمكن أن يخلق جميع أنواع الفرص غير مباشرة.

هل يمكن لكل بلد أن يتكيف؟

كل بلد سيحتاج للتكيف. مع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من التهديد العالمي، لم تقم العديد من الدول التي بمقدورها ان تتكيف بتحديد أهداف تكيف قابلة للقياس عن طريق القوانين و السياسيات المحلية.

باعتقادك ما الذي تعنيه "فجوة التكيف"؟


عدم المساواة الإقتصادية الحالية تعني أن بعض الدول لن تكون قادرة على تحمل تكاليف التكيف كغيرها من الدول. بينما تعتبر الدول الغنية المساهم الأساسي في تغير المناخ، فأشد الدول فقراً هي من ستشعر بالآثار الأشد قساوة. بالإضافة إلى أن الدول الأكثر ثراء ً بإمكانها إنفاق المال لمعالجة هذه المشاكل و التكيف معها في حين تعاني الدول النامية من شح الموارد التي تحتاجها للتكيف بفعالية. هذا يخلق فجوة تكيف بين الدول المنخفضة - مرتفعة الدخل. لا تزال هذه المشكلة غير عادلة و التي من المرجح أن تزداد سوءاً في الفترة ما بين 2030-2050.

الفجوة المالية للتكيف

كيف نتعامل مع فجوة التكيف؟

بشكل حاسم، نحتاج أن ندرك أن التكيف مع تغير المناخ يجب أن يرتبط بالتنمية العادلة و المستدامة حول العالم. هذا يعني أن نعمل من أجل مساعدة السكان الأكثر تعرضاً لتغير المناخ و إيجاد طرق أفضل لتمويل التكيف في هذه الأماكن.

ما هي مجالات المجتمع التي تحتاج إلى التكيف؟

سيكون التكيف ضروريا لبناء مجتمعات أفضل حاضرًا ومستقبلًا. فنحن بحاجة إلى تكييف جميع قطاعات مجتمعاتنا - بدءاً من كيفية حصولنا على الغذاء والماء للمحافظة على صحة الجميع إلى توفير مأوى آمن.

أولا، دعونا نستكشف كيفية تكييف الطريقة التي ننتج بها الغذاء على كوكبنا المتغير.

الفصل التالي

Adaptation: What is it and why do we need it?

16 minute read

Updated on Fri Apr 30 2021

In an ideal world we would stop climate change in its tracks – this is called mitigation. Mitigation is any action which helps to reverse or slow climate change either by:

  • Decreasing greenhouse gas emissions OR
  • Removing greenhouse gases from the atmosphere

However, climate change is already happening. This means mitigation will simply not be enough, especially without large-scale national or international climate action. Therefore, we will need to adapt to the existing and future effects of climate change.

Adaptation and mitigation

Which of these climate-friendly actions are best understood as an adaptation?


Climate change adaptation is any action that allows us to continue to meet our basic needs (food, water, health, shelter) by adjusting to climatic changes. Adaptation can either be planned in advance or work as a reaction to change, and involves important choices by all sorts of decision-makers, including farmers, business-people, politicians and individuals. These choices can help reduce the negative impacts of climate change, or even make the most of its potential benefits, such as longer growing seasons for certain crops.

When deciding how to adapt, we need to be careful to avoid maladaptation. This is where the choices we make now end up increasing our risk further down the line. Installing more air conditioning to cool indoor spaces for example, is not a great solution if this inadvertently increases outdoor heat via higher greenhouse gas emissions. This is why it is important to assess which options will be sustainable in the long-run.

Maladaptation is any action which makes the problem worse in the long-run

Should we adapt?

Which of these options do you think is the best way forward for tackling climate change?


You might be thinking that adaption sounds a bit like giving up. Surely we should focus all our efforts on stopping climate change in the first place? Well, adaptation has a couple of important benefits:

  • Preventing future losses (e.g. damage to infrastructure, ill health)
  • Providing economic opportunities
  • Creating wider social and environmental benefits

Basically, adapting in clever ways can provide us with a safety net whilst helping reduce the potential damage predicted by climate models. To explain this, let’s take a closer look at the climate science and its uncertainties. In 2014, models predicted that if we abandoned efforts to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions, the global average surface temperature would increase from 3.7 to 4.8°C by 2100, compared to pre-industrial levels. However, these models did not account for all the variability in the data, and if we add climate uncertainties into the mix then this temperature range increases from 2.5 to 7.8°C.

Factoring in uncertainty to our models

In other words, the less we do to mitigate (stop) climate change, the hotter the planet gets and the harder it becomes to adapt. We can also flip this on its head - the more successful we are at adapting to climate change, the lower the potential impacts on our society will be. Take a look at the blue section in the graph below, it highlights how adaptation could help us cope with a wider range of climatic conditions.

How can adaptation reduce our vulnerability to climate change?

In fact, you may be surprised to learn that many people are already adapting – from small-scale rain gardens that collect stormwater to the relocation of whole communities, like the Isle de Jean Charles in the USA.

Therefore, the important question is not should we adapt but how do we adapt – what should be the scale and speed of our response?

Most scientists agree that we need both mitigation and adaptation in the fight against climate change. The tricky part is striking a balance between the two given our limited time and resources.

If done effectively, however, a balanced approach is likely to be the cheapest option over time. Check out the graph below to see how this might work.

What’s cheaper: Adaptation, mitigation or a mix?

With a bit of planning, we can even pick smart solutions which mix the two approaches. A good example is soil management, where healthy soils can both store carbon (which aids mitigation) and act as a buffer against climate change by preventing landslides and improving soil drainage (i.e. adaptation).

Smart solutions tackle both problems at once

When and how should we adapt?

There are a couple of different ways to adapt, so let’s explore some of our options:

1. “Reactive adaptation” or “retrofitting” is needed when the effects of climate change are already being felt. Sea-level rise is a good example of the consequences of climate change which we are already having to adapt to.

Reactive adaptation

2. “Precautionary adaptation” is when we choose to adapt before we feel the consequences of climate change. In some cases, this can be more effective, easier and less costly than doing so at a later date

Precautionary Adaptation

3. “No-” or “low-regret” adaptations are solutions that create immediate benefits. Examples of low-regret options include collecting rainwater or not building in areas of high flood risk (which sounds obvious but it still happens!).

No/Low-Regret Adaptation

Say your house was getting too hot in the summer months and you decided to install a reflective roof coating and extra windows. Do you think this is a...


What will it cost?

Good question - the World Bank estimates that adapting to 2°C of warming will cost $70-100 billion USD per year between 2010-2050. However, the costs and benefits will vary by location and also by how much we choose to invest in the first place.

One thing researchers tend to agree on is that the cheapest way to adapt is to start doing it now. This is because as the climate changes, the cost of adaptation increases and we start to lose options, incurring ever-larger costs in damages. These costs of climate change damage which we cannot adapt to are called ‘residual damages’.

How to deal with the costs of climate change

With increasing pressure to adapt, however, nearly half of the world’s largest businesses agree that adaptation solutions could create an extra $236 billion USD profit in the short to medium term. This in turn, could create all sorts of knock-on opportunities.

Can every country afford to adapt?

Every country will need to adapt. Yet despite the global threat, many countries who can afford to adapt still haven’t set measurable adaptation targets via national laws and policies.

What do you think is meant by the ‘adaptation gap’?


Existing economic inequalities mean that some countries won’t be able to afford to adapt as much as others. While wealthy countries are the primary contributors to climate change, it is the poorest countries that will feel the effects most severely. What’s more, these wealthier countries can afford to put money into tackling and adapting to these problems, while developing countries often lack the resources they need to adapt effectively. This creates an adaptation gap between low- and high-income countries. This remains a deeply unfair problem which is likely to worsen between 2030-2050.

The Adaptation Finance Gap

How do we deal with the adaptation gap?

Crucially, we need to recognise that climate change adaptation should be linked to fair and sustainable development across the globe. This means working to help the populations who are most vulnerable to climate change and finding ways to more efficiently fund adaptation in these places.

What areas of society need to adapt?

Adaptation will be vital for building better societies now and in the future. We need to adapt every sector of our society - from how we get our food and water, to keeping everyone healthy and providing safe shelter.

First up, let’s explore how to adapt the way we produce food on our changing planet.

Next Chapter