适应:什么是适应,为什么我们需要适应?

2 一分钟阅读

更新于: 2021年1月29日 00:13:24 GMT

在一个理想的世界里,我们能够阻止阻止气候变化的发生——这就是所谓的缓解。缓解是指通过以下方式帮助扭转或减缓气候改变的任何行动:

  1. 减少温室气体排放或
  2. 从大气中清除温室气体

然而,气候改变已经发生。这意味着缓解是不够的,尤其是在没有大规模国内或国际气候行动的情况下。因此,我们需要适应气候变化的现状和未来的影响

Image of 适应和缓解

适应和缓解

适应气候变化是指通过适应气候变化,我们能够继续满足我们的基本需求(食物、水、健康、住房)的任何行动。适应可以是事先计划好的,也可以是对变化的应对,并且涉及各种决策者的重要选择,包括农民、商人、政治家和个人。这些选择能够帮助减少气候变化的负面影响,甚至可以最大程度上利用其潜在好处,例如某些作物的生长季节延长了

决定如何适应时,我们需要注意避免不适应。这就是我们现在所做的决定导致的现状,它们进一步increasing了我们的风险。举例来说,安装更多的空调来冷却室内空间,如果这一方法无意中导致高温室气体排放量从而增加了室外热量,那么它就并非一个好办法。这就是为什么评估哪些选择长期来看是具有可持续性的重要原因。

Image of 不适应指任何导致问题从长期来看发生恶化的行动

不适应指任何导致问题从长期来看发生恶化的行动

我们是否应该适应?

你可能会认为适应听起来有点像放弃。我们必须得集中所有努力在阻止气候变化上吗?适应有几个重要的好处

  1. 防止未来的损失(如基础设施损坏、健康状况不良)
  2. 提供经济机会
  3. 创造更广泛的社会和环境效益

基本上来说,以巧妙的方式进行适应能够为我们提供一个安全网,同时帮助减少气候模型预测的潜在危害。为了解释这一点,让我们仔细看看气候科学和它的不确定性。2014年,模型预测如果我们放弃减少温室气体排放,在2100年,与工业化前水平相比,全球平均表面温度将从3.7℃增加到4.8℃。然而,这些模型并没有考虑到数据中所有变化,如果我们把气候的不确定性加入其中,那么这个温度范围将从2.5℃增长到7.8℃

Image of 将不确定性纳入我们的模型中

将不确定性纳入我们的模型中

换句话说,我们为减缓(阻止)气候变化做的越少,地球会变得越热,从而使人类更难适应。我们也可以将其颠倒过来——我们在适应气候变化上做的越好,其对社会的潜在影响就更小。请看下图中的蓝色部分,它强调了适应如何帮助我们适应更广泛的气候条件

Image of 适应如何减少我们对气候变化的脆弱性?

适应如何减少我们对气候变化的脆弱性?

事实上,你也许会惊讶地发现,许多人已经在适应了——从收集雨水的小型雨水花园到整个社区的搬迁,如美国的让·查尔斯岛

因此,重要的问题不是我们是否应该适应,而是我们应该如何适应——我们反应的规模和速度应该是多少]Juhola]?

大多数科学家同意,在应对气候变化中,我们既需要减缓需要适应。棘手的部分是,如何在有限的时间和资源条件下,在两者之间取得平衡

然而,如果有效地做到这些,一种平衡的方法可能是长期以来最便宜的选择。请看下图,找出这种机制是如何运作的

Image of 哪种方法更便宜?适应、缓解还是两者结合?

哪种方法更便宜?适应、缓解还是两者结合?

只要稍加规划,我们甚至可以选出将这两种途径结合起来的明智措施。土壤管理就是一个很好的例子,健康的土壤既能够储存碳(有助于缓解){也可以通过防止山地滑坡和改善土壤排水(也就是适应)作为抵御气候变化的缓冲

Image of 明智的结局方案能够同时解决这两个问题

明智的结局方案能够同时解决这两个问题

我们应该在何时、如何适应?

有几种不同的适应方式,因此让我们来探讨以下我们的一些选择:

1.已经感受到气候变化的影响时,我们需要“被动适应”或“改造”。海平面上升是我们不得不适应气候变化的一个很好的例子

Image of 被动适应

被动适应

2.“预防性适应”是指我们选择在我们感受到气候变化的后果前进行适应。在某些情况下,预防性适应可能比被动适应更有效、更简单而且成本更低

Image of 预防性适应

预防性适应

3.“没有遗憾”或“低遗憾”适应措施是指能够产生直接效益的解决措施。低遗憾选择的例子包括收集雨水或不再高洪水风险区建造房子(听起来很理所当然,但事情时有发生!)。

Image of 无/低遗憾适应措施

无/低遗憾适应措施

代价是什么?

好问题——据世界银行估计,在2010年至2050年,为了适应2℃的全球变暖,每年将花费700-1000亿美元。然而,成本和效益将随着地点以及我们首先选择投资多少的不同而发生变化

研究人员倾向于同意的一点是最廉价的适应方式是现在就行动起来。这是因为随着气候变化,适应的成本逐渐增加,而且我们开始失去选择,并且越来越高的损坏成本随之产生。这些我们无法适应的气候变化损坏成本被称为“残余损害”

Image of 如何处理气候变化的代价

如何处理气候变化的代价

然而,随着适应的压力逐步增加,世界上最大的企业有近半数认同适应性方案能够在中短期内产生2360亿美元的额外利润。这反过来能够创造各种连锁机会。

每个国家都能适应吗?

每个国家都需要适应。然而尽管存在全球威胁,许多有能力适应的国家仍未通过国家法律和政策制定可以衡量的适应性目标

现存的经济不平等意味着有些国家无法像其他国家那样适应气候变化。虽然富裕国家是气候变化的主要导致者,但最贫穷的国家将受到最严重的影响。不仅如此,富有的国家能够投入资金来解决和适应这些问题,而发展中国家通常缺乏需要的资源去有效适应。这在低收入和高收入国家之间创造了适应差距。这仍然是一个极度不公平的问题而且很可能在2030-2050年之间持续恶化

Image of 用于适应措施的资金缺口

用于适应措施的资金缺口

我们如何处理适应方面的差距?

重要的是,我们需要意识到适应气候变化与全球的公平和可持续发展相联系。这意味着需要努力帮助最容易受到气候变化影响的人们,并且寻找更有效方法来帮助这些地区适应气候变化

社会的哪些方面需要进行适应?

适应对于现在和将来建设更美好的社会都是至关重要的。我们需要调整社会的每个部门——从如何获取食物和水,到使每个人保持健康以及提供安全的住所。

首先,让我们探讨一下如何在不断变化的地球上调整我们生产食物的方式。

下一章

Adaptation: What is it and why do we need it?

16 minute read

Updated on Fri Apr 30 2021

In an ideal world we would stop climate change in its tracks – this is called mitigation. Mitigation is any action which helps to reverse or slow climate change either by:

  • Decreasing greenhouse gas emissions OR
  • Removing greenhouse gases from the atmosphere

However, climate change is already happening. This means mitigation will simply not be enough, especially without large-scale national or international climate action. Therefore, we will need to adapt to the existing and future effects of climate change.

Adaptation and mitigation

Which of these climate-friendly actions are best understood as an adaptation?


Climate change adaptation is any action that allows us to continue to meet our basic needs (food, water, health, shelter) by adjusting to climatic changes. Adaptation can either be planned in advance or work as a reaction to change, and involves important choices by all sorts of decision-makers, including farmers, business-people, politicians and individuals. These choices can help reduce the negative impacts of climate change, or even make the most of its potential benefits, such as longer growing seasons for certain crops.

When deciding how to adapt, we need to be careful to avoid maladaptation. This is where the choices we make now end up increasing our risk further down the line. Installing more air conditioning to cool indoor spaces for example, is not a great solution if this inadvertently increases outdoor heat via higher greenhouse gas emissions. This is why it is important to assess which options will be sustainable in the long-run.

Maladaptation is any action which makes the problem worse in the long-run

Should we adapt?

Which of these options do you think is the best way forward for tackling climate change?


You might be thinking that adaption sounds a bit like giving up. Surely we should focus all our efforts on stopping climate change in the first place? Well, adaptation has a couple of important benefits:

  • Preventing future losses (e.g. damage to infrastructure, ill health)
  • Providing economic opportunities
  • Creating wider social and environmental benefits

Basically, adapting in clever ways can provide us with a safety net whilst helping reduce the potential damage predicted by climate models. To explain this, let’s take a closer look at the climate science and its uncertainties. In 2014, models predicted that if we abandoned efforts to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions, the global average surface temperature would increase from 3.7 to 4.8°C by 2100, compared to pre-industrial levels. However, these models did not account for all the variability in the data, and if we add climate uncertainties into the mix then this temperature range increases from 2.5 to 7.8°C.

Factoring in uncertainty to our models

In other words, the less we do to mitigate (stop) climate change, the hotter the planet gets and the harder it becomes to adapt. We can also flip this on its head - the more successful we are at adapting to climate change, the lower the potential impacts on our society will be. Take a look at the blue section in the graph below, it highlights how adaptation could help us cope with a wider range of climatic conditions.

How can adaptation reduce our vulnerability to climate change?

In fact, you may be surprised to learn that many people are already adapting – from small-scale rain gardens that collect stormwater to the relocation of whole communities, like the Isle de Jean Charles in the USA.

Therefore, the important question is not should we adapt but how do we adapt – what should be the scale and speed of our response?

Most scientists agree that we need both mitigation and adaptation in the fight against climate change. The tricky part is striking a balance between the two given our limited time and resources.

If done effectively, however, a balanced approach is likely to be the cheapest option over time. Check out the graph below to see how this might work.

What’s cheaper: Adaptation, mitigation or a mix?

With a bit of planning, we can even pick smart solutions which mix the two approaches. A good example is soil management, where healthy soils can both store carbon (which aids mitigation) and act as a buffer against climate change by preventing landslides and improving soil drainage (i.e. adaptation).

Smart solutions tackle both problems at once

When and how should we adapt?

There are a couple of different ways to adapt, so let’s explore some of our options:

1. “Reactive adaptation” or “retrofitting” is needed when the effects of climate change are already being felt. Sea-level rise is a good example of the consequences of climate change which we are already having to adapt to.

Reactive adaptation

2. “Precautionary adaptation” is when we choose to adapt before we feel the consequences of climate change. In some cases, this can be more effective, easier and less costly than doing so at a later date

Precautionary Adaptation

3. “No-” or “low-regret” adaptations are solutions that create immediate benefits. Examples of low-regret options include collecting rainwater or not building in areas of high flood risk (which sounds obvious but it still happens!).

No/Low-Regret Adaptation

Say your house was getting too hot in the summer months and you decided to install a reflective roof coating and extra windows. Do you think this is a...


What will it cost?

Good question - the World Bank estimates that adapting to 2°C of warming will cost $70-100 billion USD per year between 2010-2050. However, the costs and benefits will vary by location and also by how much we choose to invest in the first place.

One thing researchers tend to agree on is that the cheapest way to adapt is to start doing it now. This is because as the climate changes, the cost of adaptation increases and we start to lose options, incurring ever-larger costs in damages. These costs of climate change damage which we cannot adapt to are called ‘residual damages’.

How to deal with the costs of climate change

With increasing pressure to adapt, however, nearly half of the world’s largest businesses agree that adaptation solutions could create an extra $236 billion USD profit in the short to medium term. This in turn, could create all sorts of knock-on opportunities.

Can every country afford to adapt?

Every country will need to adapt. Yet despite the global threat, many countries who can afford to adapt still haven’t set measurable adaptation targets via national laws and policies.

What do you think is meant by the ‘adaptation gap’?


Existing economic inequalities mean that some countries won’t be able to afford to adapt as much as others. While wealthy countries are the primary contributors to climate change, it is the poorest countries that will feel the effects most severely. What’s more, these wealthier countries can afford to put money into tackling and adapting to these problems, while developing countries often lack the resources they need to adapt effectively. This creates an adaptation gap between low- and high-income countries. This remains a deeply unfair problem which is likely to worsen between 2030-2050.

The Adaptation Finance Gap

How do we deal with the adaptation gap?

Crucially, we need to recognise that climate change adaptation should be linked to fair and sustainable development across the globe. This means working to help the populations who are most vulnerable to climate change and finding ways to more efficiently fund adaptation in these places.

What areas of society need to adapt?

Adaptation will be vital for building better societies now and in the future. We need to adapt every sector of our society - from how we get our food and water, to keeping everyone healthy and providing safe shelter.

First up, let’s explore how to adapt the way we produce food on our changing planet.

Next Chapter