الماء: كيف نواجه أزمة المياه

17 minute read

تم التحديث في Sat May 08 2021

لقد تعلمنا كيف نحافظ على الطعام على موائدنا في مواجهة تغير المناخ ولكن كيف نتأكد من وصول كل شخص لمصادر مياه نظيفة و آمنة؟ تشكل المياه العذبة 3% فقط من المياه على سطح الأرض، وهي ما نستخدمه للشرب والتنظيف وري المحاصيل.

ماهي النسبة المئوية للمياه العذبة العالمية المستخدمة في الزراعة؟


تستخدم معظم المياه العذبة في الواقع لأغراض زراعية (70%) وصناعية (19%). إن المياه العذبة هي واحدة من أكثر الموارد الطبيعية أهمية في العالم والتغيرات الشديدة في توافرها يعكس آثار خطيرة على صحة ورفاهية كل من الناسوالحياة البرية.

الطلب العالمي على المياه

عندما نفكر بآثار تغير المناخ - ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر - العواصف - الفيضانات - الجفاف - ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية - قد تبدأ في التعرف على نمط مائي (أو بطريقة علمية، ‘هيدرولوجي’).

آثار تغير المناخ على الأحداث المائية العالمية

ماهي الآثار المحتملة لتغير المناخ على دورة المياه؟


كيف يؤثر تغير المناخ على دورة المياه و توافر المياه العذبة؟

المياه العذبة هي مورد متجدد، بمعنى أنها تتجدد بشكل منتظم. وفي حين أن ندرة المياه ترتبط إلى حد كبير بالنمو السكاني السريع، إلا أن للمناخ أيضاً تأثير على إمدادات المياه المتجددة.

المخاطر على توافر المياه العذبة

من المرجح أن يؤدي تغير المناخ إلى تفاقم النقص الحالي في المياه، خاصة ونحن ننتقل من مستويات +2 إلى مستويات +4 درجات مئوية للاحترار. والواقع أنه لكل درجة من درجات الاحتباس الحراري، يمكن لأكثر من 7% من سكان العالم أن يشهدوا انخفاضا بنسبة 20% في الموارد المائية المتجددة.

بالنظر إلى أن 74% من جميع الكوارث الطبيعية بين 2001-2018 كانت ذات صلة بالمياه، فإن نقص المياه ليس شاغلنا الوحيد. وذلك لأن من المتوقع أن يزيد تغير المناخ من احتمال وقوع أحداث هيدرولوجية شديدة مثل الجفاف والفيضانات والأعاصير. أحد أكبر التهديدات التي سيتعين علينا أن نتكيف معها هو ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر. ومقارنة بالفترة 1986-2005، من المتوقع أن يرتفع متوسط مستوى سطح البحر في العالم بين 0.43-0. 4m في 2100. إذا قررنا عدم التكيف على الإطلاق، فإن ارتفاع مستوى البحر يمكن أن يجعل 0.2-4.6% من سكان العالم معرضون لخطر الفيضانات السنوية من 2100 و يتكلفون ما 0.3-9.3% في أي مكان. من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي - هذا عشرات المليارات من الدولارات!

قد يبدو هذا غريبا في البداية - كيف يمكن أن يكون لدينا كمية قليلة جدا من الماء و أكثر مما ينبغي؟ حسناً، يرجع ذلك إلى أنه في ظل تغير المناخ ستصبح المناطق الرطبة أكثر رطوبة وستصبح المناطق الجافة أكثر جفافا. وهذا يعني أن الفجوة بين الطلب على المياه العذبة وتوفرها تزداد مع مرور الوقت، إلى جانب التحولات في تواتر وشدة الأحداث الهيدرولوجية.

كيف ستتغير ترددات الفيضانات؟

كيف ينبغي لنا أن نتكيف مع هذه التغيرات وأن نحافظ على إمداداتنا من المياه؟

1. إدارة المياه

لإدارة المياه بشكل مستدام، نحن بحاجة إلى إعادة التفكير من أين تأتي مياهنا، كيف ننقلها، وكيف نستخدمها في الحياة اليومية.

واليوم، تعتمد العديد من البلدان على شبكات الإمداد بالمياه لمعالجة ونقل المياه العذبة إلى حيث تحتاج إليها. ومع ذلك، إذا أردنا الحد من تعرضنا لتغير المناخ، ونحصل على المياه لمن هم في أمس الحاجة إليها، سنحتاج إلى تحديث وتوسيع هذه النظم. على سبيل المثال، من خلال إصلاح أنابيب المياه المتسربة، يمكننا منع فقدان 20-30٪ من المياه المعالجة!

إصلاح الأنابيب المتسربة سيوفر الكثير من المياه

في المتوسط، كم لتراً من الماء تستخدم في حمام مدته دقيقتين؟


على الرغم من أن 20 لترا قد تبدو كثيرة، فإنها لا شيء مقارنة بـ 15400 لتر المطلوبة لصنع 1 كغ من اللحم. ولمكافحة إهدار المياه، يمكننا التكيف عن طريق حفظ المياه وإعادة تدويرها حيثما أمكن، في البيئات الشخصية والصناعية على حد سواء. وحيثما لا يكفي ذلك، قد تحتاج المناطق المعرضة للجفاف إلى فرض حصص إعاشة على استخدام المياه، مثل الحد الأقصى البالغ 50 لترا في اليوم لسكان كيب تاون في عام 2018.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بإدارة المساحات الطبيعية، فإن مشاريع مثل «مساحة للنهر» في هولندا قد بدأت بالفعل في التكيف مع ارتفاع مستويات الأنهار من خلال بناء جسور أعلى وحفر قنوات الفيضانات والسماح للنهر بالتدفق بطريقة محكومة من الأساس. وتحتاج مشاريع التكيف واسعة النطاق هذه إلى قدر كبير من التمويل يأتي في كثير من الأحيان من الحكومات المحلية.

يمكن أن يأتي التمويل على مستوى دولي أيضًا. اجتمعت أكثر من 20 دولة في غرب أفريقيا والساحل لإنشاء ما يسمى بـ«الجدار الأخضر العظيم» وهو عبارة عن مشروع لإعادة تشجير بطول 8,000 كيلومتر ومدار من قبل مزارعين. يهدف هذا المشروع لزيادة الغطاء النباتي وزيادة القيمة الإيكولوجية للساحل، وفي نفس الوقت، مكافحة خطر الجفاف المطول. وكجزء من ذلك، قام المزارعون بالتكيف عن طريق حفر شبكات الغرس والتي تمكّن من جمع وتخزين المياه خلال فترة موسم الجفاف ولا يقلل هذا من أثر نقص المياه فقط، وإنما يطور عائدات المحاصيل المحلية ويحفز المناظر الطبيعية على التجدد بشكل طبيعي

التكيف من خلال إعادة التشجير

وبهذه الطريقة، فإن للحكومات دوراً هاماً حقاً عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتكيف. ألقي نظرة على الرسم البياني أدناه - إنه يرسم خرائط لنهجين مختلفين لسياسة توزيع المياه (أي القواعد التي تحدد من يستطيع استخدام موارد المياه وكيف متى وأين يحدث هذا) وتأثير هذه السياسات على الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في عام 2050:

سياسات الحكومة يمكن إن تساعدنا في التكيف مع نقص المياه

2. تكنولوجيا ومصادر مياه جديدة

حتى الآن قمنا بمناقشة مسألة الوصول إلى 3% من مياه الأرض العذبة. لكن ماذا لو استطعنا استخدام التكنولوجيا لتحرير الـ 97% المتبقية؟

المياه العذبة

الـ97% هذه هي مياه مالحة جداً، ولنتمكن من استخدامها فإننا بحاجة إلى إزالة هذا الملح. ونقوم بذلك عن طريق ما يسمى بعملية ‘تحلية المياه’. في حين أن تحلية المياه تسمح لنا بالاعتماد بشكل أقل على مصادر المياه العذبة المحدودة، إلا أنها مكلفة وتتطلب الكثير من الطاقة. وعلينا توخي الحذر من المشاكل البيئية الأخرى المرتبطة بتحلية المياه. على سبيل المثال، الأنابيب التي تأخذ مياه البحر تقوم بقطع الحياة في المحيطات إضافة إلى الأملاح المتبقية بعد عملية التحلية يمكن أن تلوث البيئة البحرية. لذلك قد تبدو عملية تحلية المياه هي الخيار الأفضل فقط في بعض المناطق التي يشح فيها الماء كما في دولة -الاحتلال- الإسرائيلي حيث تقوم محطة سوريك لتحلية المياه بتزويد 20% من الطلب المحلي على الماء.

تحلية المياه

أي من هذه الأساليب استخدم بنجاح لزيادة توافر المياه؟


تحلية المياه ليست الحل التكنولوجي الوحيد لندرة المياه. يوجد أساليب أخرى أكثر غرابة وبراعة، مثل جمع المياه من الضباب أو حتى نقل المياه عبر الجليد من القطب الجنوبي. على الرغم من أننا لم نتمكّن تماما من عملية سحب جبال الجليد، فقد قام السكان المحليين في شمال الهند بصنع أنهار جليدية اصطناعية خاصة بهم وتسمى «ابراج الجليد». ويعوض ذلك عن انكماش الأنهار الجليدية وتزايد تذبذب هطول الأمطار عن طريق توفير مصدر بديل للمياه.

يمكننا أيضا أن نبحث في التكنولوجيا لنجد أدوات منخفضة التكلفة لرصد المياه والتنبؤ بدقّة و نمذجة التغييرات في توافر المياه، من الخرائط التفصيلية للمناخ والجغرافيا إلى أنظمة الإنذار المبكر التي تحدثنا عن احتمال حدوث الفيضانات أو الأعاصير (EWS).

التنبؤ بالكوارث الطبيعية.

كيف يمكننا استخدام التكنولوجيا لمساعدة مدننا على التكيف مع خطر الفيضانات المتزايد؟


وكما سبقت مناقشته، فإن البنية التحتية والتخطيط الحضري أداتان مهمتان حقا لإدارة المياه. وبالإضافة إلى تحديث ما لدينا بالفعل، سيكون الابتكار التكنولوجي مهما في هذه القطاعات أيضا. وتتراوح الأمثلة بين أرصفة نافذة بمسامات تمتص مياه العواصف بشكل أفضل إلى رفع ارتفاع الجسور وحتى بناء منازل مقاومة للأعاصير المدارية حيث تصمم الأسطح لتحمل سرعة الرياح التي تصل إلى 180 كيلومترا في الساعة.

في الصين، اتخذ المخططين الحضريين خطوة اضافية حيث حولوا مدن بأكملها إلى اسفنج عملاق، مما تعيد استخدام أو تمتص 70% من مياه العواصف. ويتم ذلك عن طريق حجز مياه الأمطار في حدائق الأسطح والأراضي الرطبة وقنوات خاصة تسمى بايوسويلز (bioswales) قبل إعادة توجيهها لأغراض منزلية أو زراعية.

المدن المصممة لاستيعاب كميات كبيرة من المياه الزائدة

3. الحلول المرتكزة على الطبيعية

وعلى مر السنين، كثيرا ما كانت الاستجابات للتهديدات الهيدرولوجية تحبذ الحماية الهيكلية من صنع الإنسان، مثل السدود أو الجدران البحرية. وعلى الرغم من فعاليتها في الأجل القصير، فإنها قد تكون مكلفة؛ فقد كلف هولندا ما مجموعه 9 مليار دولار لمواجهة ارتفاع مستوى البحر بين 1960-2010. بدلا من ذلك، يمكننا أن نستلهم من الطبيعة لإيجاد حلول اقل تكلفة وطويلة الأجل تساعدنا على التصدي للأحداث الهيدرولوجية المتطرفة.

كيف تحمي الموائل الساحلية (مثل الشعاب المرجانية والمانجروف ومنابت الأعشاب البحرية) من الكوارث الطبيعية؟


قد ثبت أن إستعادة الموائل الساحلية حل شائع. ولا تقتصر هذه الموائل على توفير الحماية المادية من الكوارث الطبيعية (تخفيض ارتفاع الموجات بمتوسط 35-71%) ولكنها أيضاً تمتص وتخزن الكربون، تمنع تسرب المياه المالحة في الأراضي الزراعية و تؤوي مجموعة غنية من النباتات والحيوانات. و يعتقد أن غابات المنغروف وحدها تبلغ قيمتها أكثر من 80 بليون دولار في السنة من خلال قدرتها على حماية المناطق الساحلية (وسكانها البالغ عددهم 18 مليون نسمة) من الفيضانات.

رغم خسارة 35% من شجر المانجروف في العالم بين عامي 1980-2000 لا تزال الأدلة تظهر أن فوائد وجود غابات مانجروف سليمة هي أعلى بـ 10 أضعاف من تكلفة المحافظة عليها و2 إلى 5 مرات أرخص من الدفاعات الساحلية التي من صنع الإنسان.

فوائد المنغروف

لا يقتصر الأمر على المنجروف فقط، فقد تبين أن الأشجار بشكل عام جزء هام في دورة المياه حيث ترفع نسبة دخول مياه الأمطار إلى التربة مما يقلل خطر الفيضانات.

في الواقع، كل شيء، بدءًا من يرقات الحشرات الصغيرة إلى القنادس والذئاب يمكن أن تغير شكل وتدفق أنظمة الأنهار! كون هذه الأنواع تساهم في بناء بيئتها أساسًا. وعلى الرغم من أن القنادس معروفة على وجه الخصوص بتخفيف آثار اضمحلال الأنهار والسيول، ليس الجميع سعداء بإعادة إدخالهم لأنه من المعروف عنها قطع الكثير من الأشجار وحفر التربة إذا تركت دون مراقبة.

يمكن العثور على مهندسي النظم الإيكولوجية في جميع أنحاء المكان

الخاتمة

يجب أن يكون للإدارة المستدامة لمصادر المياه الأولوية القصوى إذا أردنا تجنب أزمات المياه في المستقبل. التكيف الناجح يتطلب كمية كبيرة من الاستثمارات في مجال أنظمة المياه المستدامة والبنية التحتية وتحسين كفاءة استخدام المياه واستغلال المعلومات والتكنولوجيا الحديثة. يمكن حدوث ذلك غالبًا من خلال مزيج بين الحلول الطبيعية والمصنعة بالإضافة إلى القرارات التنظيمية من قبل هيئات إدارة المياه.

الفصل التالي

Water: How to Cope With a Water Crisis

17 minute read

Updated on Sat May 08 2021

We’ve explored how to keep food on our plates in the face of climate change but how do we make sure everybody has access to clean, safe water? Only 3% of water on Earth is freshwater, the water we use to drink, stay clean, and water crops.

What percentage of global freshwater is used for agriculture?


The majority of freshwater is actually used for agricultural (70%) and industrial purposes (19%). Freshwater is one of the world’s most vital natural resources and extreme changes in its availability have severe impacts on the health and wellbeing of both people and wildlife.

Global Water Demand

Moreover, when we think about the impacts of climate change - rising sea-levels, storms, floods, droughts, melting glaciers - you might start to recognise a watery (or more scientifically, ‘hydrological’) theme.

Effects of climate change on global water events

What are the likely effects of climate change on the water cycle?


How does climate change affect the water cycle and availability of freshwater?

Freshwater is a renewable resource, meaning it replenishes on a regular basis. While water scarcity is largely driven by rapid population growth, climate also has an influence on renewable water supplies.

Risks to Freshwater Availability

Climate change is likely to make existing water shortages worse, particularly as we move from +2 to +4°C levels of warming. In fact, for every degree of global warming, 7% more of the world’s population could see 20% decreases in renewable water resources.

Given that 74% of all natural disasters between 2001-2018 were water-related, water shortages are not our only concern. This is because climate change is expected to increase the likelihood of extreme hydrological events such as droughts, floods and cyclones. One of the biggest threats to which we will have to adapt is sea-level rise. Compared to 1986-2005, average global sea-level is expected to rise between 0.43-0.84m by 2100. If we decided not to adapt at all, sea-level rise could put 0.2-4.6% of the world’s population at risk of yearly flooding from 2100 and cost anywhere between 0.3-9.3% of GDP - that’s tens of billions of dollars!

This might sound odd at first - how can we have both too little and too much water? Well, this is because under climate change wet areas will become wetter and dry areas will become drier. This means that the gap between freshwater demand and supply gets larger over time, alongside shifts in the frequency and severity of hydrological events.

How will flood frequencies change?

How should we adapt to these changes and maintain our water supplies?

1. Water Management

To manage water sustainably, we need to rethink where our water comes from, how we transport it, and how we use it in day to day life.

Today, many countries rely on water supply networks to treat and transport fresh water to where it is needed. However, if we are to reduce our vulnerability to climate change, and get water to those in greatest need, we will need to update and expand these systems. For example, by simply fixing leaky water pipes we could prevent the loss of 20-30% of treated water!

Fixing leaky pipes would save a lot of water

On average, how many litres of water are used in a 2 minute shower?


While 20 litres may sound like a lot, it’s nothing compared to the 15,400 litres required to make 1kg of beef. To combat water wastage, we can adapt by conserving and recycling water where possible, in both personal and industrial settings. Where this is not enough, drought-prone regions may need to enforce rations on water use, such as the 50 litres a day limit for Cape Town residents in 2018.

When it comes to managing the natural landscape, projects like ‘Room for the River’ in the Netherlands have already begun adapting to rising river levels by building higher bridges, digging flood channels, and essentially allowing the river to flood in a controlled way. These large-scale adaptation projects need considerable funding, which often comes from local governments.

Funding can also come from an international level. In West Africa and the Sahel, more than 20 countries have come together to create the ‘Great Green Wall’ - an 8,000km long farmer-led reforestation project. The project aims to plant more vegetation and increase the ecological value of the Sahel, all the while combating the risk of prolonged drought. As part of this, farmers have adapted by digging grids of planting pits which collect and store water through the dry season. Not only does this reduce the impact of water shortages, but it improves local crop yields and encourages the landscape to regenerate naturally

Adapting through reforestation

In this way, governments have a really important role when it comes to adaptation. Take a look at the graph below - it maps two different approaches to water allocation policy (i.e. the rules that determine who is able to use water resources and how, when and where this happens) and the impact these policies could have on GDP in 2050:

Government policies could help us adapt to water shortages

2. New technology and water sources

So far we have discussed access to the 3% of Earth’s water that is freshwater. But what if we could use technology to unlock the other 97%?

Freshwater

This 97% is very salty, so to use it we need to remove this salt. We do this through a process called ‘desalination’. While desalination allows us to depend less on limited freshwater resources, it is also costly and uses up a lot of energy. We should also be wary of other environmental issues with desalination. For example, the pipes that take in seawater also suck up ocean life, and the salty brine left after the desalination process can pollute marine habitats. Desalination is therefore only favoured in areas where water is really scarce, such as in Israel where the Sorek desalination plant provides 20% of local water demand.

Desalination

Which of these methods has been successfully used to increase the availability of water?


Desalination isn’t the only technological solution to water scarcity. Other methods are even more weird and wonderful, like collecting water from fog or even transporting water via icebergs from Antarctica. Although we haven’t quite got the hang of towing icebergs yet, locals in Northern India are creating their own artificial glaciers called ‘ice stupas’. These make up for shrinking glaciers and increasingly unreliable rainfall by providing an alternative source of water.

We can also look to technology for low-cost tools to monitor water and accurately forecast and model changes in availability, from detailed maps of climate and geography to early warning systems that update us on the likelihood of floods or cyclones (EWS).

Predicting Natural Disasters.

How might we use technology to help our cities adapt to increased flood risk?


As discussed earlier, infrastructure and urban planning are really important tools for water management. As well as updating what we already have, technological innovation will be important in these sectors too. Examples range from permeable pavements with pores that better absorb stormwater to raising bridge heights and even constructing typhoon-resistant houses where roofs are designed to withstand wind speeds of up to 180km per hour.

In China, urban planners have taken this a step further and have essentially transformed entire cities into giant sponges, which either reuse or absorb 70% of stormwater. This is done by capturing rainwater in rooftop gardens, wetlands and special channels called bioswales before redirecting it for domestic or agricultural purposes.

Cities designed to absorb large amounts of excess water

3. Nature-based solutions

Over the years, responses to hydrological threats have often favoured human-made, structural protections like levees, dams or sea walls. Whilst effective in the short-term, these can be expensive; it cost the Netherlands a total of $9 billion just to cope with sea-level rise between 1960-2010. Alternatively, we can take inspiration from nature to find more affordable and long-term solutions that help us cope with extreme hydrological events.

How do coastal habitats (think coral reefs, mangroves and seagrass beds) protect against natural disasters?


The restoration of coastal habitats has proved a popular solution. Not only do these habitats provide physical protection against natural disasters (reducing wave height by an average of 35-71%) but they also absorb and store carbon, prevent the intrusion of saltwater on farmland, and are home to a rich array of plants and animals. Mangrove forests alone are thought to be worth more than $80 billion per year simply through their ability to protect coastal areas (and their 18 million human inhabitants) from flooding.

Despite losing 35% of the world’s mangroves between 1980-2000, evidence continues to show that the benefits of having healthy mangrove forests are 10 times higher than the costs of maintaining them and 2 to 5 times cheaper than human-made coastal defences.

Benefits of Mangroves

It’s not just mangroves either; it turns out that trees in general are an important part of the water cycle because they increase the rate at which rainwater enters the soil, thereby reducing flood risk.

In fact, everything from tiny insect larvae to beavers and wolves can alter the shape and flow of river systems! These species are essentially natural engineers. Although beavers are particularly well-known for reducing the effects of river erosion and flash-floods, not everybody is happy about their reintroduction as they have been known to cut down too many trees and dig up lots of soil if left unchecked.

Ecosystem engineers can be found all over the place

Conclusion

Sustainable management of water resources needs to be a top priority if we want to avoid the water crises of the future. Successful adaptation will require large-scale investment in sustainable water systems and infrastructure, improving water-use efficiency and making the most of new information and technologies. This will most likely happen through a mix of engineered and natural solutions, as well as regulatory decisions made by water management bodies.

Next Chapter