水:如何应对水资源危机

2 一分钟阅读

更新于: 2020年12月14日13:35:36 GMT

我们已经探讨了面对气候变化如何保存我们盘子里的食物,但是我们怎么能确保每个人都能获得干净、安全的水资源呢?地球上只有3%的水是淡水,我们饮用这些水,使用这些水保持整洁以及灌溉作物

实际上,大部分的淡水用在了农业部门(70%)和工业部门(19%) 。淡水是世界上最重要的自然资源之一 ,淡水供给的急剧改变会对人类 和野生动物的健康和福祉造成严重的影响

Image of 全球水需求

全球水需求

而且,当考虑气候变化的影响——上升的海平面、风暴、洪水、干旱、融化的冰川——你也许会开始意识到这与水有关(或者更学术地称为 ‘水文学’ 的主题

Image of 气候变化对全球水事件的影响

气候变化对全球水事件的影响

气候变化如何影响水循环以及淡水的可获得性?

淡水是一种可再生资源,这意味着它会定期自我补充 。尽管水资源短缺很大程度上是由急剧增长的人口导致的 ,气候变化同样会影响可再生水的供给

Image of 对淡水可获得性的风险

对淡水可获得性的风险

气候变化可能会使得现有的水资源短缺问题更糟,尤其是当温度从上升2摄氏度到上升4摄氏度。事实上,全球温度每上升1摄氏度,全球就会多7%的人口见证到可再生水资源缺少20%。

考虑到74%发生在2001年到2008年间的自然灾害都与水有关,水资源短缺不是我们唯一关注的问题。这是因为气候变化会增加如干旱、洪水、飓风等极端水文事件的发生概率。上升的海平面是我们必须要应对的威胁之一。比较1986年到2005年的数据,到2100年,全球海平面平均将上升0.43-0.84米。如果我们不应对的话,从2100年起,海平面上升将使得0.2-4.6%的世界人口每年受洪水侵扰,耗费0.3-9.3%的GDP——大概是几十亿美元

起初这听起来可能有点奇怪——我们拥有的水怎么会既太多太少呢?这是因为在气候变化影响下,湿润地区会变得更湿润,而干旱地区会变得更干旱。这意味着淡水的供需差距会随着时间的推移变得越来越大,同时伴随着水文事件的频率及严重性发生急剧改变。

Image of 洪水频率会如何改变呢?

洪水频率会如何改变呢?

我们应如何应对这些变化并维持我们的水资源供给呢?

1. 水资源管理

为了可持续地管理水资源,我们需要重新思考水从哪里来,被如何运输以及在日常生活中如何使用它。

如今,很多国家都依赖水供应网络来处理以及运输淡水到需要它的地方。然而,如果我们要减少应对气候变化的脆弱性,把水资源送给最急需的人,我们需要升级并扩展这些系统。比如,只需要修理好漏水管,我们就能减少损失20~30%处理过的水资源

Image of 修理漏水管会节省大量的水

修理漏水管会节省大量的水

尽管20升水听起来很多,但比起来做1千克牛排用的15400升水来说已经不算什么了。为了应对水资源短缺,在个人生活和生产时要尽可能保护和循环水资源。这还不够,在易发生干旱的地区还可能需要限定水资源的使用量,比如2018年开普敦居民一天只能使用50升水。

谈到管理自然景观时,类似荷兰“还地于河”的项目已经开始通过修建更高的桥梁、挖掘洪水渠道以及根本上允许河流以可控的方式泛滥等手段适应河面的上升。这些大规模的适应项目需要大量资金,这些资金通常来自当地政府。

也会有国际资助。在西非和萨赫勒地区,20多个国家一起建造了“绿色长城”——一项8000千米长的农民主导的再造林项目,旨在种植更多绿植,提升萨赫勒地区的生态价值,应对长期干旱的风险。作为该项目的一部分,农民已经通过挖建集水和储水种植坑网格来适应。这不但减少了水资源短期的影响,而且增加了作物产量,促进景观自然再生

Image of 通过再造林适应

通过再造林适应

这样,政府在适应方面扮演着非常重要的角色。请看下图,图中展现两种不同水分配政策(例如,决定谁能够使用水资源,分配方式、时间和地点的规则)以及这些政策对2050年GDP的影响

Image of 政府政策可以帮助我们适应水资源短缺

政府政策可以帮助我们适应水资源短缺

2. 新技术和水源

到目前为止,我们已经讨论了获得地球上3%的淡水的途径。但如果能用技术获得剩下97%的水,会发生什么呢?

剩下97%的水非常咸,所以要使用这些水,就需去除里面的盐,即通过脱盐’过程来做到这点。尽管脱盐可以让我们不那么依赖有限的淡水资源 ,但其非常昂贵,耗能也高。我们也应该意识脱盐的其他环境问题。比如,用来接收海水的管道也会吸入海洋生物,脱盐后留下的盐碱会污染海洋栖息地。因此,脱盐只适用于水资源急剧缺乏的地区,例如在以色列Sorek海水淡化厂解决了当地20%的水需求

Image of 淡化

淡化

脱盐并不是解决水资源短缺的唯一科技途径,其他技术更加古怪和巧妙,比如从雾中收集水 或者通过南极洲的冰山运输水。尽管我们还未掌握拖移冰山技术,印度北部人正创造自己的人工冰山“冰舍利塔”。上述方法通过提供替代的水源来弥补退化的冰山和越来越不可依赖的降水.。

我们也可以依赖技术寻找低成本的工具以监控水以及准确的预测、模拟水资源可获得性的变化,从详细的地理和气候分布图到向我们告知洪水或飓风可能性的早期预警系统(EWS)

Image of 预测自然灾害

预测自然灾害

如前所述,基础设施和城市规划是水管理的重要工具。除了升级已经取得的成果,科技创新在这些领域也十分重要。这方面的例子包括可以更好吸收暴雨的有空隙可渗透人行道 、上升的桥梁,甚至是修建的抗台风房屋,其屋顶被设计成可以承受每小时高达180km的风速

在中国,城市规划者已经向前迈进了一步,基本上把整个城市变成了巨型海绵,再利用或吸收70%的暴雨。这是通过获取屋顶花园、湿地以及被称为生态洼地的特殊管道的水,然后将其用于家庭和农业来实现的.。

Image of 设计成吸收大量多余水的城市

设计成吸收大量多余水的城市

3. 基于自然的解决方法

这些年,对水文威胁的应对措施总是倾向于人为建造的防护,如堤坝、水坝或者防波堤等。尽管这些措施在短期内是有效的,但也非常昂贵;在1960~2010年,荷兰总共花费了90亿美元应对海平面上升。或者,我们可以从自然界找到灵感,寻求更经济的长期解决办法以应对极端水文事件

恢复沿海栖息地已经被证明是一种普遍适用的方式。这些栖息地不但可以提供应对自然灾害的物理防护(可以平均降低35~71%的海浪高度),而且可以吸收和储存碳 ,阻止盐水对农田的侵蚀,而且也是很多动植物的家园。单红树林本身每年仅通过保护沿海地区(包括其中的180万居民)免受洪水侵害创造800多亿美元的价值

尽管1980~2000年,世界消失了35%的红树林,一直有证据表明拥有健康红树林的益处是维护他们所需费用的10倍,花费也比人造防护便宜了2到5倍

Image of 红树林的益处

红树林的益处

这不仅仅是红树林; 事实表明,树木通常是水循环的一个重要部分,因为树木会增加雨水进入土壤的速度, 从而减少洪水风险

事实上, 从昆虫幼虫到海狸再到狼,都可以改变河流系统的形状和流量! 这些物种实际上是自然工程师。虽然海狸一直因对减少河流侵蚀和洪水有影响而特别出名 ,但并不是每个人都对重新引进它们感到高兴,因为如果不加控制,它们会啃咬很多树木和挖开大量的土壤

Image of 生态系统工程师随处可见

生态系统工程师随处可见

结论

如果我们想要避免未来的水危机,水资源的可持续管理就必须放在首位。 成功的适应需要对可持续的水系统和基础设施进行大规模投资,提高用水效率,充分利用新的信息和技术。这很可能是通过工程和自然的结合来解决,水管理机构作出的监管决定同样重要

下一章

Water: How to Cope With a Water Crisis

17 minute read

Updated on Sat May 08 2021

We’ve explored how to keep food on our plates in the face of climate change but how do we make sure everybody has access to clean, safe water? Only 3% of water on Earth is freshwater, the water we use to drink, stay clean, and water crops.

What percentage of global freshwater is used for agriculture?


The majority of freshwater is actually used for agricultural (70%) and industrial purposes (19%). Freshwater is one of the world’s most vital natural resources and extreme changes in its availability have severe impacts on the health and wellbeing of both people and wildlife.

Global Water Demand

Moreover, when we think about the impacts of climate change - rising sea-levels, storms, floods, droughts, melting glaciers - you might start to recognise a watery (or more scientifically, ‘hydrological’) theme.

Effects of climate change on global water events

What are the likely effects of climate change on the water cycle?


How does climate change affect the water cycle and availability of freshwater?

Freshwater is a renewable resource, meaning it replenishes on a regular basis. While water scarcity is largely driven by rapid population growth, climate also has an influence on renewable water supplies.

Risks to Freshwater Availability

Climate change is likely to make existing water shortages worse, particularly as we move from +2 to +4°C levels of warming. In fact, for every degree of global warming, 7% more of the world’s population could see 20% decreases in renewable water resources.

Given that 74% of all natural disasters between 2001-2018 were water-related, water shortages are not our only concern. This is because climate change is expected to increase the likelihood of extreme hydrological events such as droughts, floods and cyclones. One of the biggest threats to which we will have to adapt is sea-level rise. Compared to 1986-2005, average global sea-level is expected to rise between 0.43-0.84m by 2100. If we decided not to adapt at all, sea-level rise could put 0.2-4.6% of the world’s population at risk of yearly flooding from 2100 and cost anywhere between 0.3-9.3% of GDP - that’s tens of billions of dollars!

This might sound odd at first - how can we have both too little and too much water? Well, this is because under climate change wet areas will become wetter and dry areas will become drier. This means that the gap between freshwater demand and supply gets larger over time, alongside shifts in the frequency and severity of hydrological events.

How will flood frequencies change?

How should we adapt to these changes and maintain our water supplies?

1. Water Management

To manage water sustainably, we need to rethink where our water comes from, how we transport it, and how we use it in day to day life.

Today, many countries rely on water supply networks to treat and transport fresh water to where it is needed. However, if we are to reduce our vulnerability to climate change, and get water to those in greatest need, we will need to update and expand these systems. For example, by simply fixing leaky water pipes we could prevent the loss of 20-30% of treated water!

Fixing leaky pipes would save a lot of water

On average, how many litres of water are used in a 2 minute shower?


While 20 litres may sound like a lot, it’s nothing compared to the 15,400 litres required to make 1kg of beef. To combat water wastage, we can adapt by conserving and recycling water where possible, in both personal and industrial settings. Where this is not enough, drought-prone regions may need to enforce rations on water use, such as the 50 litres a day limit for Cape Town residents in 2018.

When it comes to managing the natural landscape, projects like ‘Room for the River’ in the Netherlands have already begun adapting to rising river levels by building higher bridges, digging flood channels, and essentially allowing the river to flood in a controlled way. These large-scale adaptation projects need considerable funding, which often comes from local governments.

Funding can also come from an international level. In West Africa and the Sahel, more than 20 countries have come together to create the ‘Great Green Wall’ - an 8,000km long farmer-led reforestation project. The project aims to plant more vegetation and increase the ecological value of the Sahel, all the while combating the risk of prolonged drought. As part of this, farmers have adapted by digging grids of planting pits which collect and store water through the dry season. Not only does this reduce the impact of water shortages, but it improves local crop yields and encourages the landscape to regenerate naturally

Adapting through reforestation

In this way, governments have a really important role when it comes to adaptation. Take a look at the graph below - it maps two different approaches to water allocation policy (i.e. the rules that determine who is able to use water resources and how, when and where this happens) and the impact these policies could have on GDP in 2050:

Government policies could help us adapt to water shortages

2. New technology and water sources

So far we have discussed access to the 3% of Earth’s water that is freshwater. But what if we could use technology to unlock the other 97%?

Freshwater

This 97% is very salty, so to use it we need to remove this salt. We do this through a process called ‘desalination’. While desalination allows us to depend less on limited freshwater resources, it is also costly and uses up a lot of energy. We should also be wary of other environmental issues with desalination. For example, the pipes that take in seawater also suck up ocean life, and the salty brine left after the desalination process can pollute marine habitats. Desalination is therefore only favoured in areas where water is really scarce, such as in Israel where the Sorek desalination plant provides 20% of local water demand.

Desalination

Which of these methods has been successfully used to increase the availability of water?


Desalination isn’t the only technological solution to water scarcity. Other methods are even more weird and wonderful, like collecting water from fog or even transporting water via icebergs from Antarctica. Although we haven’t quite got the hang of towing icebergs yet, locals in Northern India are creating their own artificial glaciers called ‘ice stupas’. These make up for shrinking glaciers and increasingly unreliable rainfall by providing an alternative source of water.

We can also look to technology for low-cost tools to monitor water and accurately forecast and model changes in availability, from detailed maps of climate and geography to early warning systems that update us on the likelihood of floods or cyclones (EWS).

Predicting Natural Disasters.

How might we use technology to help our cities adapt to increased flood risk?


As discussed earlier, infrastructure and urban planning are really important tools for water management. As well as updating what we already have, technological innovation will be important in these sectors too. Examples range from permeable pavements with pores that better absorb stormwater to raising bridge heights and even constructing typhoon-resistant houses where roofs are designed to withstand wind speeds of up to 180km per hour.

In China, urban planners have taken this a step further and have essentially transformed entire cities into giant sponges, which either reuse or absorb 70% of stormwater. This is done by capturing rainwater in rooftop gardens, wetlands and special channels called bioswales before redirecting it for domestic or agricultural purposes.

Cities designed to absorb large amounts of excess water

3. Nature-based solutions

Over the years, responses to hydrological threats have often favoured human-made, structural protections like levees, dams or sea walls. Whilst effective in the short-term, these can be expensive; it cost the Netherlands a total of $9 billion just to cope with sea-level rise between 1960-2010. Alternatively, we can take inspiration from nature to find more affordable and long-term solutions that help us cope with extreme hydrological events.

How do coastal habitats (think coral reefs, mangroves and seagrass beds) protect against natural disasters?


The restoration of coastal habitats has proved a popular solution. Not only do these habitats provide physical protection against natural disasters (reducing wave height by an average of 35-71%) but they also absorb and store carbon, prevent the intrusion of saltwater on farmland, and are home to a rich array of plants and animals. Mangrove forests alone are thought to be worth more than $80 billion per year simply through their ability to protect coastal areas (and their 18 million human inhabitants) from flooding.

Despite losing 35% of the world’s mangroves between 1980-2000, evidence continues to show that the benefits of having healthy mangrove forests are 10 times higher than the costs of maintaining them and 2 to 5 times cheaper than human-made coastal defences.

Benefits of Mangroves

It’s not just mangroves either; it turns out that trees in general are an important part of the water cycle because they increase the rate at which rainwater enters the soil, thereby reducing flood risk.

In fact, everything from tiny insect larvae to beavers and wolves can alter the shape and flow of river systems! These species are essentially natural engineers. Although beavers are particularly well-known for reducing the effects of river erosion and flash-floods, not everybody is happy about their reintroduction as they have been known to cut down too many trees and dig up lots of soil if left unchecked.

Ecosystem engineers can be found all over the place

Conclusion

Sustainable management of water resources needs to be a top priority if we want to avoid the water crises of the future. Successful adaptation will require large-scale investment in sustainable water systems and infrastructure, improving water-use efficiency and making the most of new information and technologies. This will most likely happen through a mix of engineered and natural solutions, as well as regulatory decisions made by water management bodies.

Next Chapter