مسائل مفتوحة: ما لا نعرفه بعد عن التكيف

3 minute read

تم التحديث في Fri Apr 30 2021

Problem: Climate Change Adaptation versus Sustainable Development?

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

تقوم العديد من البلدان المتقدمة بالفعل بتقديم مساعدات دولية لمعالجة قضايا عالمية كالفقر ، سوء التغذية و الصراعات. لسوء الحظ، إن تغير المناخ لا يسبب المشاكل فقط إنما يهدد بزيادة حدة هذه القضايا الحالية أيضاً. لذا فإننا اذا اخترنا أن لا نتكيف، نخاطر في جعله من الأصعب تحقيق أهداف التنمية العالمية.

لمعالجة ذلك، يوافق العديد من العلماء و المنظمات الدولية يتفقون انّ دعم عجلة التنمية و تكيف المناخ يجب أن يسيرا جنبا إلى جنب.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: How do we close the adaptation gap?

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

أحد الحلول لفجوة التكيف المالية أن تساعد الدول الغنية في تمويل تكيف المناخ في هذه الدول التي لا يمكنها تحمل تكلفة القيام بذلك بنفسها. في الحقيقة، أحد أهداف اتفاق باريس المنعقد في 2015 حول تغير المناخ كان للمساعدة على سد فجوة التكيف عن طريق زيادة التمويل المتاح للدول النامية. في حين أن هذا من المؤكد أنها خطوة في المسار الصحيح إلا انه ما زالنا بحاجة لإنجاز الكثير من العمل لإصلاح عدم المساواة العالمي هذا.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We need to prepare for the needs of climate refugees

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

وصف مهاجر المناخ هو شخص يتحرك بشكل مؤقت أو دائم استجابة لآثار تغير المناخ (على سبيل المثال، ارتفاع مستويات سطح البحر، والجفاف والأسباب الاجتماعية و/أو الاقتصادية[Farbokto]). وتتنبأ التقديرات الحالية بانه يمكن أن يصبح فيه ما بين 25 مليون إلى بليون شخص في أي مكان مهاجرين مناخي بحلول عام 2050.

إن جوهر هذه المشكلة هو أن المهاجرين لأسباب مناخية لا يتمتعون إلا بقدر ضئيل جدا من الحقوق القانونية. ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى أن المفهوم جديد إلى حد أن القانون لم يتح له الوقت للحاق بهذا المفهوم حتى الآن[Farbokto]. ولذلك، وبغية تجنب حدوث أزمة، يتعين علينا أن نركز على الحلول السياسية والقانونية. ومن المهم جدا أن يشمل ذلك تأمين القوانين الوطنية والدولية التي تحمي المهاجرين في مجال المناخ، مثل إطار عمل كانكون للتكيف لعام 2010. وتشمل الحلول الأخرى إعادة التوطين المخطط لها أو تأمين حقوق ملكية الأراضي؛ ويُعتقد أن توفير الأرض يساعد الناس على العودة إلى أقدامهم بالسماح لهم بإنتاج طعامهم الخاص وإعالة أنفسهم مالياً.

الصلات بين تغير المناخ والصراعات والهجرة معقدة. وعلى هذا الأساس، نحن بحاجة إلى التركيز على احتياجات مختلف السكان المهاجرين،
و دعم قرارات الناس بالتكيفوا لتخطيط للمستقبل كلما كان ذلك ممكنا.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We need to update environmental regulations to account for climate change

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

في أعمال البناء، هناك قوانين بالفعل تتطلع إلى حماية البيئة. بيد أن معظم الدول تفتقر إلى التوجيه أو التنظيمات الرسمية حول كيفية البناء مع تغير المناخ في الذهن. لمواجهة ذلك، نحن بحاجة إلى معايير بناء جديدة من شأنها أن تجعل الأبنية أكثر أماناً و فعالية.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We need to develop technologies that enhance our water supplies

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

لقد ناقشنا تكنولوجيا تحلية المياه و التي تعمل على تحويل المياه المالحة إلى مياه عذبة صالحة لاستخدام. لسوء الحظ، إن تحلية المياه قد تكون مكلفة و ينتج عنها عدد من المشاكل البيئية.

بينما يعمل بعض الأشخاص على تحسين عملية تحلية المياه، قد يكون أحد البدائل الواعدة هو أن نعالج و نعيد استخدام المياه المتوافرة لدينا. هذه المياه المستصلحة بإمكانها لاحقاً أن يستخدم في الزراعة او لأغراض صناعية. التحدي التالي هو توسيع نطاق هذه التكنولوجيا لنستخدمها في مياه الشرب أيضاً!

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: How do we manage pesky insects?

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

أحد الحلول التي يتم تطويرها حالياً هي هندسة محاصيلنا جينياً ما يمكننا من ردع أنواع الحشرات المزعجة بشكل خاص. إلا أن هذه التقنية يمكن أن تضر بالحشرات النافعة ( وإن كان بدرجة أقل من المبيدات الحشرية التقليدية) في حين قد تصبح الحشرات المستهدفة مقاومة لدفاعات النباتات على المدى البعيد. هذا يعني أنه سيتعين علينا أن نعول على الأساليب الحالية للسيطرة على الآفات كدوران المحاصيل و استغلال العمليات الطبيعية أو أننا سنحتاج إلى إيجاد طرق تكيف جديدة مع خطر الآفات المتغير.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We need more diverse voices in adaptation planning

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

لقد اكتشفنا كيف أن بعض فئات المجتمع ( بالأخص النساء و الشباب و السكان الأصليين) غالباً مايتم استبعادهم من عملية صنع القرار. لذا، فإنه عندما نختار طريقة التكيف، نحن بحاجة للتشجيع على المشاركة العامة ليكون للمجتمعات الأكثر تضرراً من تغير المناخ رأي في تصميم و تنفيذ إجراءات التكيف. في الواقع ، تظهر الدراسات أنه عندما تشمل القرارات أشخاصاً من خلفيات متنوعة في أغلب الأحيان يؤدي ذلك إلى الحصول على نتائج أفضل لكل من البشر و الكوكب.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: How and when should we adapt?

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

بالنظر إلى أن عواقب تغير المناخ يمكن أن تكون تدريجية او مفاجئة، قد يكون من الصعب معرفة متى و كيف علينا أن نتكيف. إن البشر قد تكيفوا مع بيئتهم بنجاح لملايين السنين ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتخطيط قدماً فإننا لا نملك خارطة طريق جيدة تماماً. في هذه الأثناء، لا تولي الحكومات اهتماماً للمشاكل طويلة الأمد كتغير المناخ و تفضل تحويل أغلب وقتها و مواردها باتجاه آخر.

علينا البدء بتخطيط كيف نتكيف في أقرب وقت ممكن. قامت بعض أقل دول العالم تقدماً بالفعل بوضع خطة عمل وطنية للتكيف تحدد أهداف التكيف. على باقي دول العالم اتباع هذا المنحى من أجل تحديد ما يمكن أن يبدو عليه التكيف في مختلف الأماكن و كيف سوف يمول. يكمن سر هذه الاستراتيجية في تطوير هذه الخطط فيما نستمر في بناء معارفنا حول تأثيرات المناخ و حلول التكيف.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

الفصل التالي

Open Problems: What we Don't yet Know About Adaptation

3 minute read

Updated on Fri Apr 30 2021

Problem: Climate Change Adaptation versus Sustainable Development?

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

Many developed countries already provide international aid to address global issues, such as poverty, malnutrition and conflict. Unfortunately, climate change not only creates new problems but it threatens to worsen these pre-existing issues too. Therefore, if we choose not to adapt, we run the risk of making it harder to meet global development goals.

To address this, many scientists and international organisations agree that support for development and climate adaptation should go hand in hand.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: How do we close the adaptation gap?

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

One solution to the adaptation finance gap is for wealthy countries to help fund climate adaptation for those countries which cannot afford to do so themselves. Indeed, one of the goals of the 2015 Paris Agreement on climate change was to help close the adaptation gap by increasing available funding for developing countries. While this is certainly a step in the right direction, there is still plenty of work to be done to fix this global inequality.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We need to prepare for the needs of climate refugees

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

A climate migrant describes someone who either temporarily or permanently moves in response to the effects of climate change (e.g. rising sea levels, droughts, and social and/or economic reasons[Farbokto]). Current estimates predict anywhere between 25 million to 1 billion people could become climate migrants by 2050.

The heart of this problem is that climate migrants have very few legal rights. This is partly because the concept is so new that the law hasn’t had time to catch up yet[Farbokto]. Therefore, to avoid a crisis, we need to focus on political and legal solutions. Crucially, this includes securing national and international laws that protect climate migrants, such as the 2010 Cancun Adaptation Framework (UNFCCC). Other solutions include planned relocation or securing land rights; providing land is thought to help people get back on their feet by allowing them to produce their own food and support themselves financially.

The links between climate change, conflict and migration are complex. As such, we need to focus on the needs of different migrant populations, support people’s decisions to adapt, and plan ahead where possible.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We need to update environmental regulations to account for climate change

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

In construction work, there are already laws in place that look to protect the environment. However, most countries lack official guidance or regulation on how to build with climate change in mind. To counteract this, we will need new building standards that make buildings safer and more efficient.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We need to develop technologies that enhance our water supplies

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

We have discussed desalination technology that works to turn salty water into usable freshwater. Unfortunately, desalination can be expensive and has a number of environmental problems.

While some people are working to improve the desalination process, one promising alternative is to treat and reuse the water we already have. This reclaimed water can then be used for agricultural or industrial purposes. The next challenge is to up-scale this technology so that we can use it for drinking water too!

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: How do we manage pesky insects?

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

One solution currently under development is to genetically engineer our crops so that they can deter the particularly troublesome insect species. However, this technique can also harm beneficial insects (although to a lesser extent than traditional pesticides) while target insects can potentially become resistant to the plants’ defences in the long-run. This means we will have to build on existing pest control methods, such as crop rotation and exploiting natural processes, or we will need to find new ways of adapting to the changing threat of pests.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We need more diverse voices in adaptation planning

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

We’ve explored how some groups of people (namely women, youth and indigenous populations) are often left out of the decision-making process. Therefore, when choosing how to adapt, we need to encourage public participation so that the communities most affected by climate change have a say in the design and implementation of adaptation measures. Indeed, studies show that when decisions involve people from diverse backgrounds they often lead to better outcomes for both people and planet.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: How and when should we adapt?

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

Given that the consequences of climate change can be both gradual or sudden, it can be tricky to know when and how to adapt. Humans have successfully adapted to their environment for millions of years, but when it comes to planning ahead, we don’t have quite as good a track record. At the moment, governments don’t consider long-term issues like climate change a priority, and choose to divert most of their time and resources elsewhere.

We need to start planning how to adapt as soon as possible. Some of the least developed countries in the world have already created National Adaptation Plans of Action that set out adaptation goals. The rest of the world needs to follow this lead in order to work out what adaptation could look like in different places and how it will be funded. The key to this strategy is to update these plans as we continue to build our knowledge of climate impacts and adaptation solutions.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Next Chapter