基础设施:使我们的基础设施适应气候变化

2 一分钟阅读

更新于: 2020年12月14日13:35:52 GMT

我们已经讨论了健康基础设施,但是我们依赖的其他基础设施呢?我们可以把“基础设施”看成 组成一个社会的实体和组织的系统和服务 。 这包括从旅行和通信到诸如水和能源等基本资源的分配。我们不能承担失去这些服务,所以让我们探索如何使它们适应迅速一直在变化的气候。

Image of 基础设施网络是成功适应气候变化的关键

基础设施网络是成功适应气候变化的关键

我们为什么需要调整我们的基础设施?

建筑物保护我们免受各种因素的影响,从而保护我们免受气候变化的最严重影响 。 然而,这种保护只能做到这样――今天的大部分基础设施只是为了抵御现有极端气候和季节性变化 。 此外,基础设施网络是互相紧密相连的;这意味着一个系统的任何中断都会对其他系统产生撞击效果 。 因此,急剧的气候变化对我们作为一个社会的互动方式的长期可持续性构成了威胁。

因此,主要的威胁是什么,它们可能如何影响我们的基础设施? 首先,我们的星球变得越热,我们的系统和服务就越有可能变得过热 。 建筑材料会通过扩展 来适应较高的温度。 这种情况已逐渐积聚为内部压力,并导致结构退化和不稳定,造成铁轨变形,路面形成裂缝和坑洞

Image of 热风险的连锁效应

热风险的连锁效应

对基础设施的另一个主要威胁是自然灾害的频率和强度日益增加。极端的洪水、风暴和飓风都对交通、通信和供水网络造成毁灭性和持久的影响。在全球范围内,预计仅河流和沿海的洪水就会造成价值数万亿美元(美元) 的结构破坏

最后,气候变化还将影响我们如何与基础设施互动。 例如,在一个日益炎热的星球上,我们对水的 和能量 的需求可能会增加。 随着不同人口因应气候变化而移动,对基础设施的需求也会间接地发生变化。

中断和维护的费用很快增加。 事实上, 目前大部分基础设施的维护主要是由气候多变造成的,在中低收入国家每年 已经花费了3 910~6470亿美元 。 在欧洲,由于气候变化,到2100年这些维护费用预计将增加10倍

Image of 基础设施损坏的成本将来要高得多。

基础设施损坏的成本将来要高得多。

虽然有预付费用 ,但是有气候适应性的建筑总体上是会更便宜的,由于它们本身就能持续更长事间,花费更少的维护成本

我们如何建设一个更具气候适应力的社会?

如果我们想建立 有气候适应性的 基础设施,我们的第一选择是从零开始。在这种情况下,我们需要从考虑气候预测的设计标准开始。例如,加拿大的联邦桥被建造来承受未来海平面上升1米。工作还不止于此: 在施工期间,我们可以选择能够吸收和储存大量热能的建筑材料,他们能自然调节温度,甚至延长建筑的寿命。建筑师还可以利用建筑的形状和布局来提供自然通风 和更好的元件保护

对于关键的基础结构链接,在发生自然灾害时,可能值得额外建立“多余的”版本作为备份。 例如,如果一个大桥要在洪水中倒塌,就会有一个备份桥挽救局面 。 至关重要的是,我们需要监测现有的结构,以减少其一段时间内失败的风险 。 通过准确预测, 我们可以尽早作出调整,并避免以后作出困难的决定,从而减少灾害风险。 如果我们真的想要升级,我们可以建造多功能 基础结构。 例如作为超量暴风雨的通道的交通隧道

为了节省时间和金钱,另一个选择是升级我们已经拥有的基础设施。这叫做改装 。 例子包括可渗透的 人行路、在公共空间中筑起的公路和水源 。 在阿布扎比, 建筑师已经将几何阴影附在摩天大楼外面,不仅能够提供荫蔽,甚至还能够根据阳光改变自己的位置 。 很酷,不是吗?

实际上, 改装可以像安装热传感器或把我们的屋顶、道路和铁路刷成白色以反射阳光一样简单。 如果处理适当,白色屋顶可以反映80%的太阳能,而黑色屋顶只能反射5-10% 考虑到人行道和屋顶议案都占了60%的城市表面面积,这种做法会是很有效的。

Image of 城市气候智能设计

城市气候智能设计

另一个简单的改装办法是空调(或AC)。 不幸的是,空调是一把双刃剑,因为从长远来看,它实际上会使城市热问题更加严峻。 这是因为空调需求的增加对能源网造成了压力:温度每升1℃, 城市用电量可增加2-4% ! 这会产生更多的温室气体排放并使温度上升

Image of 空调的恶性循环

空调的恶性循环

如前所述,一个更可持续的选择是设计能更好地忍受更大范围温度的建筑。或者,一个特别新颖的解决方案是将可再生能源驱动的冷却系统与碳捕捉技术结合起来(查看我们关于碳捕获的其他课程!),以实现真正的双赢

1. 治理、科学和政策

适应将是政府、行业和地方作用之间的协作努力。成功的适应还应该充分利用现有的科学专业知识。例如,地球科学家可以通过开发基本的泛滥平原和地质地图来帮助我们确定最安全的建设地点。在能源部门,数据科学家已经通过使用偏远的气象站确定了容易发生森林火灾的地区。通过避开这些高风险地区,我们可以减少停电的可能性 。这种前瞻性思维在重新设计城市地区和规划未来基础设施项目时非常有用。

在建筑业内部, 越来越重要的是,要找到更有效的方法处理废物和排放 并制定更强有力的环境条例。 例如,法国鼓励新的建筑项目在的早期考虑未来的气候风险。 很不幸,大多数环境代码都不是那么现代,35个经合组织 国家中只有5个国家拥有提到气候变化的最新代码

Image of 调整基础设施

调整基础设施

经济

到2030年,调整基础设施的全球成本估计在80~1,300亿美元之间 。 这是一大笔钱,那我们可以如何增加可用资金?

要做到这一点,我们需要寻找不同的供资来源,从公共、私人赠款再到政府计划和多边开发银行

鉴于基础设施资金的87~91%来自中低收入国家政府 , 有充分的理由重新思考政府如何(以及由谁提供) 获得资金,然后在何处投资 。 在斐济,政府推出了环境和气候适应性征收的10%的奢侈品和富裕家庭税 。 截至2019年,该税已成功产生超过1.19亿斐济元(约合5 600万美元。 其中大部分用于改造基础设施,包括新的桥梁、海堤和排水系统

3. 社区解决办法

通过让当地社区参与规划适应气候变化的工作,我们可以从当地知识中获益。 这可包括预测恶劣天气事件的传统技术 或恢复沿海栖息地,以保护其居民及其所依赖的基础设施

4. 绿色基础设施和基于自然的解决办法

我们还可以通过创造更多的自然空间来使我们的城市更加绿色 。 例如,绿色屋顶可以调节夏季高温 并吸收过多的暴水 ,,甚至可以支持小型农庄

Image of 绿色基础设施能够对气候非常友好!

绿色基础设施能够对气候非常友好!

这些解决方案是一个被称为绿色基础设施的更大想法的一部分,而不是人为的“灰色”基础结构。 绿色基础设施寻求利用诸如池塘、公园和林地等自然特征来改善城市生活 ,通过消除过剩的暴风雨,降低当地温度帮助城市应对气候变化

例如,一项研究发现,每年投资1亿美元在城市植树可以为全世界7700万人口创造足够的荫蔽,使平均气温降低1摄氏度 。然而,为了实现真正的可持续发展,我们需要确保我们有足够的水供应 或使用耐旱 的,最好是本土的 树种

Image of 树木覆盖和温度

树木覆盖和温度

大自然也能激励建筑师。 这个叫做仿生学 并且可以用于设计更适合其环境的基础设施――从受沙漠甲虫启发 的建筑物,以及用于自然通风和温度调节的白蚁丘 ,再到基于海草的水力发电设备

Image of 仿生学

仿生学

我们还可以通过从整个生态系统中获得灵感来进行调整。 在中国, 城市规划者已经对四分之一的土地进行了保护,通过允许受保护的泛滥平原和水道容许多余的水源,来促进淡水的获取和提高土地应付自然灾害的能力

结论

要记住的是,不同地方将经历不同的气候风险 。 这意味着对于如何建立一个具有气候抗御能力的社会没有简单的路线图 。 然而,我们很可能需要结合人为和自然的解决办法,以便维持我们所依赖的基本系统和服务。

下一章

Infrastructure: Adapting our Infrastructure to Survive Climate Change

15 minute read

Updated on Fri Apr 30 2021

We have already discussed health infrastructure, but what about other infrastructure that we rely on? We can think of infrastructure as the physical or organisational systems and services that make up a society. This covers everything from travel and communication to the distribution of basic resources like water and energy. We can’t afford to lose these services so let’s explore how we might adapt them to a changing climate.

Infrastructure networks are key for successful adaptation

Why do we need to adapt our infrastructure?

Buildings shelter us from the elements, thereby protecting us against the worst effects of climate change. However, this protection only goes so far - the majority of infrastructure today was only designed to withstand existing climate extremes and seasonal variation. Moreover, infrastructure networks are closely interconnected; meaning any disruption in one system will have knock-on effects for others. Rapid climate change therefore poses threats to the long-term sustainability of how we interact as a society.

So what are the main threats and how might they impact our infrastructure? Firstly, the hotter our planet gets, the more likely our systems and services will also get too hot. Building materials respond to higher temperatures by expanding. This builds up as internal stress and causes structures to deform and become unstable, leading to buckled railways and the formation of cracks and potholes in roads.

Knock-on effects of heat risk

Another major threat to infrastructure is the increasing frequency and intensity of natural disasters. Extreme floods, storms and hurricanes all have a devastating and lasting impact on transport, communications and water supply networks. Globally, river and coastal flooding alone is predicted to cause increased structural damage worth trillions of dollars (US$).

Lastly, climate change will also affect how we interact with infrastructure. For example, on a hotter planet our demand for water and energy will likely increase. Indirectly, demand for infrastructure will also shift as different populations move in response to climate change.

By the end of the century, how might climate change affect the cost of infrastructure maintenance and repair?


The costs of disruption and maintenance quickly add up. In fact, the majority of current infrastructure maintenance is largely caused by climatic variability and already costs $391-647 billion USD per year in low- and middle-income countries. In Europe, these maintenance costs are expected to be 10 times higher by 2100 due to climate change.

Cost of Infrastructure damage will be much higher in the future

Even though they have upfront costs, climate-resilient buildings could be up to 4 times cheaper over their lifetime since they will, by their nature, last longer and cost less to maintain.

How do we build a more climate-resilient society?

If we want to build climate-resilient infrastructure, our first option is to build from scratch. In this case, we need to start with design standards that account for climate predictions. For example, the Confederation Bridge in Canada was built to withstand 1m of future sea-level rise. The work doesn’t stop there: during construction we can pick building materials that are able to absorb and store large amounts of heat energy, which naturally regulate the temperature and even prolong the life of the building. Architects can also use the shape and layout of a building to provide natural ventilation and better protection from the elements.

Can you spot the fake? Which of these is not an adaptation for climate-resilient infrastructure?


For key infrastructure links, it can be worth building extra ‘redundant’ versions as a backup in the event of a natural disaster. For example, if a major bridge was to collapse in a flood, a backup bridge would be there to save the day. Crucially, we need to monitor existing structures to reduce their risk of failure over time. With accurate forecasting, we can reduce the risk of disaster by adapting early and avoid having to make difficult decisions further down the line. If we really want to level-up, we can build multipurpose infrastructure, such as traffic tunnels which double as a funnel for excess stormwater.

To save time and money, another option is to upgrade the infrastructure we already have. This is called retrofitting. Examples include permeable pavements, raised roads and water fountains in public spaces. In Abu Dhabi, architects have attached geometric shades to the outside of skyscrapers that not only provide shelter from the sun but are even able to change their position in response to sunlight. Cool, right?

In fact, retrofitting can be as simple as installing heat sensors or painting our roofs, roads and railways white to reflect sunlight. If done properly, a white roof can reflect up to 80% of the sun’s energy, compared to just 5-10% for a black roof. Think how effective this could be given that pavements and roofs typically make up over 60% of urban surfaces.

Climate-smart design for cities

Another simple retrofitting solution is air conditioning (or AC). Unfortunately, AC is a double-edged sword because it can actually make the urban heat problem worse in the long run. This is because increased demand for air conditioning puts pressure on the energy grid: for every 1°C increase in temperature, electricity use in cities can increase by 2-4%! This generates more greenhouse gas emissions and increases temperatures.

Negative cycle of air conditioning

A more sustainable option, as discussed earlier, is to design buildings that better tolerate a wider range of temperatures. Alternatively, one particularly novel solution is to combine a renewable-powered cooling system with carbon capture technology (check out our other course on carbon capture!) for a real win-win.

1. Governance, Science & Policy

Adaptation will be a collaborative effort between governments, industry and local action. Successful adaptation should also make the most of available scientific expertise. For example, Earth scientists can help us by developing basic floodplain and geological maps to help us identify the safest places to build. In the energy sector, data scientists have identified areas prone to bushfires by using remote weather stations. By avoiding these high-risk areas, we can then decrease the likelihood of power cuts. This type of forward-thinking is really useful when redesigning urban areas and planning future infrastructure projects.

Within the construction industry, it is becoming increasingly important to find more efficient ways of dealing with waste and emissions and to establish stronger environmental regulations. For example, in France, new construction projects are encouraged to consider future climate risks early on. Unfortunately, the majority of environmental codes are not quite so modern - only 5 out of 35 OECD countries have up-to-date codes that mention climate change.

Adapting Infrastructure

2. Economics

Estimates for the global cost of adapting infrastructure range between $8-130 billion by 2030. That’s quite a lot of money, so how might we increase available funding?

To do this, we need to look to different sources of funding, from public and private grants all the way up to government schemes and multilateral development banks.

Given that 87-91% of funding for infrastructure comes from governments in low- and middle-income countries, there is a strong case for rethinking how (and by whom) governments are funded and where that money is then invested. In Fiji, the government has introduced the Environment and Climate Adaptation Levy - a 10% tax on luxury items and rich households. As of 2019, the levy has successfully generated over FJ$119 million (that’s roughly US$56 million), the majority of which has been spent adapting infrastructure including new bridges, seawalls and drainage systems.

3. Community Solutions

Through involving local communities when planning climate change adaptation, we can benefit from local knowledge. This could include traditional techniques for predicting severe weather events or restoring coastal habitats to protect both their inhabitants and the infrastructure on which they rely.

4. Green Infrastructure and Nature-based Solutions

We can also literally make our cities greener by creating more space for nature. For example, green roofs moderate high summer temperatures and absorb excess stormwater, and can even support mini farms.

Green Infrastructure can be very climate friendly

Why is green infrastructure useful?


These solutions are part of a larger idea called green infrastructure, as opposed to human-made ‘grey’ infrastructure. Green infrastructure looks to make use of natural features, like ponds, parks and woodland, to both improve urban living and help cities cope with climate change by soaking up excess stormwater and reducing local temperatures.

One study for example, found that investing $100 million per year in urban tree planting could potentially create enough shade to cut average temperatures by 1°C for 77 million people across the world. However, for this to be truly sustainable we need to make sure we have adequate water supplies or use drought-tolerant, and preferably native, tree species.

Tree cover and temperature

Nature can inspire architects too. This is called biomimicry and can be used to design infrastructure that’s better adapted to its environment - from buildings inspired by desert beetles and termite mounds for natural ventilation and temperature regulation, to hydropower devices based on seaweed.

Biomimicry

We can also adapt by taking inspiration from whole ecosystems. In China, urban planners have put one quarter of the country’s land under protection to boost access to freshwater and improve the land’s capacity to cope with natural disasters by allowing protected floodplains and waterways to hold surplus water.

Conclusion

It is important to remember that different places will experience different climatic risks. This means there is no simple roadmap for how to build climate-resilient cities. However, it is likely we will need a combination of both ‘green’ and ‘grey’ solutions in order to minimise locally relevant climate risks.

Next Chapter