健康:在不断变化的气候中保持健康

2 一分钟阅读

更新于: 2021年12月01日19:07:45 GMT

我们的健康与星球的健康息息相关 。如果星球生了病,我们也会生病 。例如,大气中二氧化碳含量较高与种植的作物中蛋白质、铁和锌含量较低有关,会导致食物质量变低,人们也就很难获得适当的营养。在本章中,我们将探讨为什么气候危机也是一场健康危机 ,以及如何调整医疗保健以应对所面临的威胁。

如果我们无法适应,会发生什么?

Image of 健康与气候变化

健康与气候变化

1. 直接影响

随着地球日渐升温,与热有关的疾病风险增加 ,因为心脏、肺和肾脏必须更加努力地工作来维持人类体温。2000年至2016年间,又有1.25亿人受热浪侵袭。科学家预测,“超级”热浪(即到2050年,欧洲至少6天的温度超过30摄氏度)的频率将增加5至10倍。另一方面,温度升高可以减少与寒冷有关的死亡

有些疾病,如霍乱、登革热和疟疾,对气候敏感,这意味着疾病的传播取决于温度和降雨量等因素。因此,如果气候发生变化,就会对这些疾病影响的地点对象产生影响

Image of 气候变化的健康影响

气候变化的健康影响

2. 间接影响

气候变化也可能以我们不会立即想到的方式间接影响健康。洪水会促进某些疾病的传播,森林火灾会造成污染,使得每年大约有34万人过早死亡。可以预见的是,国家间与国家内的冲突将会升级,且无法获得基本医疗保健的环境难民将会增加

综合来看,气候变化对健康的影响预计会造成疾病和死亡,让社会付出巨大代价

Image of 气候变化的健康影响

气候变化的健康影响

风险最高的人群为老人、小孩以及生活在很难提供良好医疗保健国家的人。气候变化也使后代的健康面临危险。如果想要避免最严重的健康风险,我们需做好准备,并尽快适应

气候智能医疗

减少碳排放对于防止未来不必要的疾病和死亡有着巨大潜力,此为重要的缓解工作,但我们仍需适应,为此需要制定计划。截至2018年,只有48个国家制定了正式的健康适应计划。即便如此,大多数国家仍在努力将这些计划付诸行动

首先,应在需要最迫切的地方建立医院和诊所,确保每个人都能享受基本的医疗保健。例如,在易受洪灾影响的地区,如孟加拉国,一些社区使用“浮动医院” 。还可以招募更多的护士和医生,并向其提供关于气候变化的健康风险和如何治疗的培训

Image of 浮动医院

浮动医院

近来人们开始设计更加环保的医院,运用更多的环境友善建筑设计、可再生能源供应以及远程医疗(即,使用通信技术提供远程护理)。所有这些都可以降低成本和挽救生命。该类型的适应可以创造‘共同利益’(即具有多重优点的解决方案)

Image of 绿色医院

绿色医院

卫生部门以外的适应

然而,仅仅是卫生部门在行动是不够的。如果想要减少与气候变化有关的健康风险,还需要政府与行业的努力。这就意味着投资更好的卫生、气候监测 、教育和农业。各国政府也可以带头制定安全工作标准,保护工人免受热暴露与其他气候变化的影响

有关健康的适应需求增加了对既有利于地球又有利于我们健康的基础设施的需求。例如,在城市地区增加植物已被证明可以减少40-90% 与热有关的死亡率,同时还与减少压力水平和增强社区意识息息相关

事实上,升级基础设施在人类健康方面发挥重要作用。例如,通过更新海岸防御系统和下水道系统来处理多余雨水,从而限制洪水期间疾病的传播

通过审视全局与调整社会其他领域,能够减少健康系统的压力

技术、监测与映射

其次,如果想要在不断变化的气候中保持人类健康,就需要建立更好的监测气候敏感性疾病的方法,早期预警系统(‘EWS’)就派上用场了。早期预警系统利用历史数据来预测未来的灾害,如洪水与热浪,使人们能够提前通知处于危险中的人群。EWS 帮助我们计划应对措施,以便能够更好地减少对人们健康的影响,例如开放提供水、遮阳与空气调节的冷却站。幸运的是,EWS运作十分顺利。在美国,使用早期预警系统比较两个类似的热浪可以降低50%的死亡率

Image of 热浪早期预警系统

热浪早期预警系统

除了热浪之外,EWS还是追踪气候敏感性疾病的绝佳工具,这会证明对诸如疟疾此类的疾病极其有用。此类疾病通常与赤道附近较热的地区相关,但预计由于气候变化将扩散到新的地区。为确保EWS行之有效,需要从研究天气和疾病传播的科学家处得到准确数据

公共卫生与通信

监测气候敏感性疾病和其他健康威胁的一个重要部分是确保广大公众做好准备。为解决这一难题,教育和交流发挥作用了。教育和交流使得我们能够协调国家之间和国家内部的反应。公共健康教育能使我们帮助人们了解发生自然灾害或其他气候相关健康威胁时要做什么以及去往哪里(或者不去哪里!)

Image of 管理自然灾害;准备与执行

管理自然灾害;准备与执行

那么我呢?

就个人而言,气候变化可能意味着为了保持自己与周围人的健康,我们日常生活会发生细微的变化。在最极端的情况下,可能涉及紧急情况计划,以及在必要时对早期预警系统作出反应 。说句不那么严肃的话,说到热浪,在阴凉处午睡可能是受欢迎的、科学认可的选择

Image of 如何保持凉爽

如何保持凉爽

结论

现在众所周知,气候变化意味着社会将经历不断变化的医疗需求。我们还研究了通过早期预警系统(Morin, 20)、提高公众意识、加强社区反应以及投资医疗保健系统来适应气候威胁的方法。尽管这需要时间、精力与金钱,但从长远来看,回报或许会超过成本,并降低潜在的健康风险 。通过使用绿色医疗保健等解决方案,我们甚至可以向大自然伸出援助之手。在个人层面上,我们可以从帮助其他人理解长期良好的人类健康同样取决于健康的星球开始

下一章

Health: Keeping Healthy in a Changing Climate

13 minute read

Updated on Sat May 08 2021

Our health is closely connected to our planet’s health. This means that if our planet gets sick, so do we. For example, higher atmospheric CO₂ has been linked to lower levels of protein, iron and zinc in the crops we grow. This results in lower quality food and makes it difficult for people to get the right nutrition. In this chapter we’ll explore why the climate crisis is also a health crisis, and how we might adapt our healthcare to meet the threats we face.

What happens if we don’t adapt?

Health and Climate Change

1. Direct Effects

Which illnesses are likely to affect more people as a result of climate change?


As the Earth gets hotter, the risk of heat-related illness increases because your heart, lungs and kidneys have to work harder to maintain your body temperature. An extra 125 million more people were exposed to heat waves between 2000-2016, and scientists predict that ‘mega’ heat waves (ie. at least 6 days with temps over 30ºC) in Europe will become 5 to 10 times more frequent by 2050. On the flip side, these increased temperatures could result in fewer cold-related deaths.

Some diseases, like cholera, dengue and malaria, are ‘climate-sensitive’. This means that the spread of disease depends on factors like temperature and rainfall. Therefore, if the climate changes, it has an impact on where and who these diseases affect.

Health impacts of Climate Change

2. Indirect Effects

Climate change can also indirectly affect health in ways we might not immediately think of. Take floods, which help the spread of certain diseases, or pollution from forest fires, thought to cause roughly 340,000 early deaths each year. We can also expect higher levels of conflict between and within countries, and greater numbers of environmental refugees who are unable to get basic healthcare.

Combined, these effects of climate change on health are predicted to come at a huge cost to society through illness and death.

Health Impacts of Climate Change

Those at highest risk are the old, the very young, and people living in countries where it is already a struggle to provide decent healthcare. Climate change also puts the health of future generations at risk. If we are to avoid the worst of these health risks, we need to prepare and adapt as soon as possible.

Climate-smart healthcare

How can we adapt healthcare in the face of climate change?


Cutting carbon emissions has a massive potential to prevent unnecessary illness and death in the future. This is important mitigation work but we still need to adapt, and for that we need a plan. As of 2018, only 48 countries had formal health adaptation plans, but even then the majority were struggling to put these plans into action.

For starters, we need to make sure everyone has basic access to healthcare by building hospitals and clinics where they are most needed. For example, in areas vulnerable to flooding, like Bangladesh, some communities now use ‘floating hospitals’. We can also adapt by recruiting more nurses and doctors and providing them with training on the health risks of climate change and how to treat them.

Floating Hospitals

What do you think the term ‘co-benefit’ means?


Recently, people have been designing ‘greener’ hospitals that make greater use of environmentally friendly building design, renewable energy supplies and telemedicine (i.e. providing remote care using communication technologies), all of which can lower costs and save lives. This type of adaptation is said to create ‘co-benefits’ (ie. solutions which have multiple advantages).

Green Hospitals

Adaptation outside the health sector

However, it is not just the health sector that will need to adapt. If we want to reduce health risks associated with climate change, it is going to require effort from governments and industries too. This means investing in better sanitation, climate monitoring, education and farming. Governments can also take the lead by setting safe working standards to protect workers from heat exposure and other impacts of climate change.

Why is planting trees in urban areas good for our health?


The need for health-related adaptation has increased the demand for infrastructure that is both good for the planet and our health. For example, increased plant life in urban areas has been shown to reduce heat-related death rates by 40-90% and is also linked to reduced stress levels and a stronger sense of community.

In fact, upgrading our infrastructure could play a big role in keeping us healthy. For example, we can limit the spread of disease during flooding by updating our coastal defences and sewage systems to deal with excess stormwater.

By looking at the big picture and adapting other areas of society, we can reduce pressures on our healthcare systems.

Technology, Monitoring and Mapping

If we want to keep people healthy in a changing climate, we need to establish better ways of monitoring climate-sensitive diseases. This is where Early Warning Systems (‘EWS’) come in handy. EWS use historic data to predict future hazards like floods and heatwaves, allowing us to inform the populations at risk ahead of time. From there, EWS help us plan a response so that we can better reduce the effects on people’s health, such as opening cooling stations that provide water, shade and air conditioning. Luckily, EWS work really well. In the USA, using an EWS resulted in 50% fewer deaths when comparing two similar heatwaves.

Early Warning Systems for heat waves

Aside from heat waves, EWS are also a brilliant tool for tracking climate-sensitive diseases. This will prove particularly useful for diseases like malaria, which are typically associated with hotter areas nearer the equator but are predicted to spread to new areas as a result of climate change. To make sure EWS are effective, we need accurate data from scientists who study weather and disease transmission.

Public Health and Communications

An important part of monitoring climate-sensitive diseases and other health threats is making sure the wider public are prepared. This is where education and communication complete the puzzle, allowing us to coordinate responses between and within countries. Through public health education, we can help people understand what to do and where to go (or not go!) in the event of a natural disaster or other climate-related health threat.

Managing natural disasters; preparation and execution

What about me?

On a personal level, a changing climate could mean making small changes in our day-to-day lives in order to keep ourselves and those around us healthy. At the extreme end, this could involve planning for emergency situations and responding to Early Warning Systems when necessary. On a less serious note, when it comes to heatwaves, the odd siesta in the shade could be a popular, and scientifically approved, option!

How to keep cool

Conclusion

We now know that climate change means society is going to experience changing healthcare demands. We’ve also taken a look at the ways we can adapt to these threats through Early Warning Systems, raising public awareness, stronger community responses, and by investing in our healthcare systems. Although these require time, effort, and money, the rewards are likely to outweigh the costs, and reduce potential health risks, in the long run. By using solutions like greener healthcare, we can even give nature a helping hand along the way too. At an individual level, we can make a start by helping others understand that long-term good health depends on a healthy planet too.

Next Chapter