開放性問題:一個不完整的實現全球氣候平等的待辦清單

3 一分鐘閱讀

更新於: 14 Dec 2020

問題 1: 我們無法實現可持續發展目標

世界需要解決的問題有:

facefacefacefaceface
attach_moneyattach_moneyattach_moneyattach_moneyattach_money
personpersonpersonpersonperson

大腦

金錢

意識

描述

就目前情況而言,我們不會在2030年實現可持續發展目標許多人仍然陷於極端貧困之中;收入,就業和社會地位(例如性別)的不平等現象仍然很嚴重,我們正處於氣候危機的邊緣

當他們在2015年創立時,其成功基於兩個主要要求:穩定的經濟增長以資助進步;和 國際合作,以允許各國相互支援。到2020年,這些要求很大可能無法達到

我們正面臨一個世紀以來最嚴重的經濟危機,國際氣候談判(COP26)已推遲。正如全球需要加強合作一樣,緊張局勢實際上正在加劇,掙扎於COVID-19(「冠狀病毒」)的富裕國家可能選擇撤出其在其他國家的發展資金

為了達到可持續發展目標, 不能進行逐步更改。我們需要 改變我們的世界,並迅速

點擊以了解更多

誰在做這件事:

arrow_forward The European Union

問題 2: 各國政府需要加緊行動以實現可持續發展目標

世界需要解決的問題有:

faceface
attach_moneyattach_moneyattach_moneyattach_moneyattach_money
personpersonpersonperson

大腦

金錢

意識

描述

我們對可持續發展目標的廣泛承諾,但這些 {語言 並不總是轉化為 {行動 。各國需要採取步驟來幫助實現可持續發展目標,其中包括: {合作 以計劃行動, {資金 行動和 {跟蹤 進展

但是各國並不總是採取所有這些步驟。更重要的是,在一些國家採取行動的地方,其中大多數政策實際上還不足以實現可持續發展目標!例如,只有 {四個國家(不丹,衣索比亞,印度和菲律賓)採取的行動足以將氣候變暖保持在2°C以下,只有 {一個國家 -(摩洛哥)-有望達到1.5°C

俄羅斯聯邦,沙特阿拉伯,土耳其和美國的努力是 「嚴重不足」 。儘管沒有哪個國家可以實現所有可持續發展目標,但似乎很多國家都沒有足夠重視他們。必須更改 {迅速

點擊以了解更多

誰在做這件事:

問題 3: 讓我們談談錢...

世界需要解決的問題有:

facefaceface
attach_moneyattach_moneyattach_moneyattach_moneyattach_money
person

大腦

金錢

意識

描述

為了實現可持續發展目標,我們需要為此付出代價。每年全球需要5-7萬億美元。聽起來很多錢!但是嗎?周圍的錢綽綽有餘:所有國家/地區的年總收入超過 US 80萬億(這是由政府控制的 公款),還有 200萬億斜體 私人資金也是由公司產生的

儘管如此,可持續發展目標資金不足。在發展中國家, 每年目前投資的每$ 1美元,還需要$ 1.79美元才能達到SDGs !那麼,我們如何彌補這一資金缺口呢?第一個來源是 公款。聯合國成員國承諾每年捐贈其國民總收入的0.7%作為發展援助。但是,在2019年,只有5個國家達到了這一目標

第二個來源是來自公司的 私人資金。由於私人資金太多,這對於實現可持續發展目標至關重要,特別是在可再生能源等領域。但是,使用私人資金可能會造成問題,當什麼時候獲利不是可持續發展目標的最佳選擇

但這確實是一個好訊息:實現可持續發展目標 在經濟上有意義! 它可以創造3.8億個新工作,創造價值12萬億美元的商業機會,並防止26萬億美元的氣候破壞

點擊以了解更多

誰在做這件事:

問題 4: COVID-19(「冠狀病毒」)引起了人類發展危機。

世界需要解決的問題有:

facefacefaceface
attach_moneyattach_moneyattach_moneyattach_money
personpersonpersonpersonperson

大腦

金錢

意識

描述

COVID-19大流行病(2019年-進行中)不只是即時的健康危機:它是一種持續發展的 人類發展危機。除了由疾病本身引起的死亡外,到2021年,大流行可能還會導致 6000中低收入國家每天可預防的兒童死亡。這是該病毒對經濟和教育的巨大影響之上

尚未確定COVID-19的所有直接和間接影響,但它已經 通過不成比例地影響已經脆弱的國家和人群來加劇現有的不平等現象 。例如,它對老年人,無家可歸者和存在健康問題的人(在低收入群體中更常見)的影響特別嚴重

此外,在學校和託兒所關閉的情況下, 婦女通常承擔額外的無償照料職責,但要付出其社會和經濟地位的代價。也有證據表明,在家中隔離COVID-19已導致婦女遭受更多的家庭暴力。這只是已經感受到的影響的快照,毫無疑問,還會有更多的影響。

COVID-19已經使實現2030年的可持續發展目標 更加困難 。據一些估計,過去6年人類發展的所有進步都可以逆轉

點擊以了解更多

誰在做這件事:

問題 5: 我們正處於十字路口:從COVID-19進行的恢復必須基於可持續發展目標

世界需要解決的問題有:

facefacefaceface
attach_moneyattach_moneyattach_money
personpersonpersonpersonperson

大腦

金錢

意識

描述

{有人說COVID-19危機可能會啟動氣候行動 !由於經濟危機,到2020年全球溫室氣體排放量將下降有史以來最大量。但是,要製止氣候危機,排放量必須逐年下降

這意味著政府必須立即採取行動, 使我們走上零排放之路,同時在COVID-19 之後啟動經濟復甦。可持續發展目標必須告知並指導我們的恢復,恢復社會 {沒有恢復我們過去的環境破壞習慣

點擊以了解更多

誰在做這件事:

問題 6: 沒有更多的過度消費

世界需要解決的問題有:

facefaceface
attach_money
personpersonpersonpersonperson

大腦

金錢

意識

描述

隨著國家的發展和變得富裕,個人消費更多,排放增加。我們在本課程中經常說過這一點,這對於SDG來說是個大問題。當前,幾乎所有國家和地區的人們都在追求由社會上最富有的人所主導的生活方式

但是這種生活方式通常是非常不可持續的。我們需要確保以人為本的代價無法實現所有人應得的高質量生活

我們需要關注 {足夠的消費,而不是 {過度的消費,尤其是在發達國家。 我們消費的越多,從中得到的幸福感增長就越小。如果您沒有地方住,那麼買房子會讓您比以前更加快樂。但是,如果您已經有房子,那麼買第二套房子並不會增加您的幸福感,但仍然會佔用大量資源

防止過度消費並不容易,甚至可能需要對我們的經濟體係以及我們如何衡量進步進行根本性的改變

點擊以了解更多

誰在做這件事:

arrow_forward Oxfam
前往測試!

Open Problems: An incomplete TODO list for Achieving Global Climate Equity

2 minute read

Updated on Mon Dec 14 2020

Problem: We are not on track to meet the Sustainable Development Goals

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

With things as they are now, we are not going to achieve the SDGs by 2030. Many people are still trapped in extreme poverty; inequalities of income, employment and social status (e.g. gender) are still high, and we are on the brink of a climate crisis.

When they were created in 2015, their success was based on two major requirements: steady economic growth to fund progress; and international cooperation to allow countries to support each other. In 2020, neither of these requirements are likely to be met.

We’re facing the worst economic crisis in a century and international climate talks (COP26) have been postponed. Just as greater cooperation is needed globally, tensions are actually increasing and rich countries struggling with COVID-19 (‘coronavirus’) may choose to withdraw their funding for development in other countries.

To meet the SDGs, gradual change is not an option. We need to transform our world, and quickly!

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: Governments need to step up their ACTION to deliver the Sustainable Development Goals

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

There is widespread commitment to the SDGs, but these words aren’t always translating into actions. Countries need to take steps to help deliver the SDGs, which can include: collaborating to plan action, funding action, and tracking progress.

But countries are not always taking all of these steps. What’s more, where countries have taken action, most of these policies are not actually strong enough to achieve the SDGs! For example, only four countries - (Bhutan, Ethiopia, India, and the Philippines) - have taken action that would be strong enough to keep climate warming to less than 2°C, and only one country - (Morocco) - is on track for 1.5°C.

The efforts of the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, and the USA, are ‘critically insufficient’. Although no country is on track to meet all the SDGs, it seems like many countries just aren’t taking them seriously enough. This has to change, fast.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: Let’s talk about the money...

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

To achieve the SDGs, we need to pay for them. Annually, US$5-7 trillion is needed across the world. That sounds like a lot of money! But is it? There’s more than enough money around: the total yearly income of all countries is over US$80 trillion (that’s public money, which is controlled by governments) and a further US$200 trillion of private money is made by companies, too.

Despite this, the SDGs are underfunded. In the developing world, for every $1 currently invested every year, a further $1.79 is needed to meet the SDGs! So how can we close this funding gap? The first source is public money. UN member countries are committed to donate 0.7% of their Gross National Income as development aid every year. But, in 2019, only 5 countries met this target.

The second source is private money from companies. Because there is so much private money, this will be essential to meeting the SDGs, especially in areas like renewable energy. Using private money can cause problems, though, when what is profitable is not what is best for the SDGs.

But here is the really good news: achieving the SDGs makes economic sense! It could create 380 million new jobs, open business opportunities worth US$12 trillion, and prevent US$26 trillion in climate damages.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: COVID-19 (‘Coronavirus’) has caused a human development crisis.

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

The COVID-19 pandemic (2019 – ongoing) is more than just an immediate health crisis: it’s a human development crisis that isn’t going away. As well as the deaths caused by the disease itself, by 2021 the pandemic may lead to a further 6000 preventable child deaths every day in low and middle-income countries. This is on top of the huge impacts of the virus on the economy and education.

All the direct and indirect impacts of COVID-19 haven’t been identified yet, but it is already worsening existing inequalities by disproportionately affecting countries and groups of people that are already vulnerable. For example, its impacts are particularly severe on the elderly, the homeless, and those with existing health problems (which are more common in low-income groups).

Also, with schools and childcare closed, women are often taking up the extra unpaid care duties, at a cost to their social and economic status. There is also evidence that COVID-19 isolation in homes has led to women suffering increased domestic violence. This is only a snapshot of the impacts that are already being felt and there are, undoubtedly, more to come.

Already, COVID-19 has made achieving the SDGs by 2030 even harder. By some estimates, all of the progress in human development of the last 6 years could be reversed.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: We are at a crossroads: the recovery from COVID-19 must be based on the SDGs

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

Some people say that the COVID-19 crisis could kick start climate action! Because of the economic crisis, global greenhouse gas emissions in 2020 will fall by the largest amount ever recorded. However, to stop a climate crisis, emissions must continue to decline, year on year.

This means that governments must take action now to set us on a path to zero emissions while kick-starting the economic recovery after COVID-19. The SDGs must inform and guide our recovery, restoring society without bringing back our old habits of environmental damage.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Problem: No more overconsumption!

What the world needs to solve this problem:

brain

money

awareness

Description:

As countries develop and get richer, individuals consume more and emissions rise. We’ve said it often in this course and it's a big problem for the SDGs. Currently, almost all countries and people are aiming for the kind of lifestyle that is led by the wealthiest in society.

But this lifestyle is often very unsustainable. We need to make sure that the high quality of life that everyone deserves isn't achieved at a cost to the planet. We need to focus on sufficient consumption rather than over consumption, especially in the developed world.

The more we consume, the smaller the increase in wellbeing we get out of it. If you don’t have anywhere to live, getting a house makes you very much happier than you were before. But if you already have a house, buying a second house doesn’t increase your wellbeing as much, but it still uses a lot of resources.

Preventing overconsumption isn’t easy, and may even require fundamental changes to our economic systems and how we measure progress.

Click to learn more:

Who is working on this:

Next Chapter