农业:改变耕作方式以适应气候变化

2 一分钟阅读

更新于: 2020年12月14日13:35:24 GMT

粮食生产受到气候变化的威胁。我们的农业系统严重依赖于自然环境。虽然农民习惯与气候变化,但是已经有很多人报告说由于不可预知的气候和季节模式而遇到了困难。反过来,这些气候的变化也会改变杂草和作物病害的严重程度及分布。为进一步增加我们粮食生产系统的压力,到2050年,人类人口预计将超过97亿 。这清楚地表明,采取行动迫在眉睫。

Image of 为什么农业需要适应不断变化的气候

为什么农业需要适应不断变化的气候

如果不加以适应,到2050年气候变化可能使得全球粮食作物产量减少5-30%。另一方面,通过改变种植时间、作物品种,以及管理供水来适应的农民可以比之前的生产量增加7-15%。但是,要记住的是,随着地球持续变暖(温带地区在1-2度,热带地区在1.5-3度),适应变得更加困难,带来的好处也越来越少

Image of 有、无适应条件下的产量变化预测

有、无适应条件下的产量变化预测

适应可能是什么样的?

在世界各地,耕作可能看起来非常不同――从在湿地鸟类上采集越橘到骆驼生产牛奶 。 这意味着农民有各种方式能够适应。即使简单的改变也能起作用。 例如,法国葡萄园现在比50年前早30天收获它们的葡萄、41%的葡萄园种植者愿意种植适合气候的新品种

Image of 由于气候变化,收获的时间正在变化

由于气候变化,收获的时间正在变化

农业适应还可能涉及影响农场经营方式的更大的变化——从转向可持续的土地管理方法 到为农作物购买保险。无论大小,这些适应性的选择有助于使农场更有弹力 地适应变化,不管是否与气候有关。

Image of 不同类型的耕作看起来是使用什么样的适应方式

不同类型的耕作看起来是使用什么样的适应方式

我们应该何时开始?

自从人类开始耕种以来,适应就一直是一种生活方式。适应包括应对各种环境和社会变化。当谈到气候变化时,我们可以使用类似的方法,现在就试用解决方案,并在学习的过程中开发它们。然而,在撒哈拉以南非洲等地,农业系统预计将在未来5-20年超过临界点临界点表示临界值,当超过临界值时,会导致环境条件的突然和快速变化。如要避免这些不归路的点,我们可能需要更直接、更具变革性的改变

Image of 跟踪适应情况

跟踪适应情况

适应的障碍是什么?

适应的最明显障碍是成本。联合国估计,到2030年,农业适应气候变化的费用将为11.3至12.6亿美元(包括林业与渔业) 。 一些科学家认为这个数字可能高2至3倍

还有其他挑战,包括公众缺乏认识 、工业之间在土地使用方面的竞争 , 以及现有哪些技术帮助农民适应

我们如何鼓励适应?

1. 疯狂的科学家还是富有成果的研究?

整个科学领域致力于改善农业实践,减少环境对农业的影响,确保人人都有足够的食物。 如果我们想要使这些目标成为现实,需要为这个科学 提供资金。的确,从长远来看,在农业适应性研究上每投入1美元,发展中地区就可能获得3.7美元至5.2美元的回报

基因改造作物(GE)是农业研究如何帮助我们适应气候变化的一个杰出例子

基因工程技术生产的作物能够承受更高的温度、缺水和疾病暴发。 引进这些新品种, 遗传工程能够通过引进特定基因的新变体而使一个物种的遗传多样性增加

Image of GEO可以有许多不同的属性

GEO可以有许多不同的属性

数据驱动的研究也提供了很有希望的解决办法——从发展更精确的天气预报到更详细的土壤图 ——所有这些都使用更精确、实时的信息帮助农民决定如何最好地适应。 这项研究非常有用是因为如果我们拥有越多做决定所需的信息, 就越有可能作出正确的适应性选择

2. 治理和政策

政府行动是所谓的“自上而下”办法的一部分。 虽然社区和企业可以推动变革,但当涉及到适应方面,政府仍然处于推动地位。 这是因为它们制定了法律和政策,进而使农民更容易(或更难)适应。

Image of 需要一种协作的办法来适当地加以调整

需要一种协作的办法来适当地加以调整

各国政府在农业筹资方面也很重要。 在2014到2016年期间,各国政府每年向农业部门共提供5 680亿美元 。现在比以往任何时候都更加需要这种财政支持来考虑调整我们的耕作方式的费用。

那么,哪些具体政策能够有所帮助? 自二十世纪九十年代以来,重点一直放在政府向土地管理人员支付薪资以改善其当地生态系统健康状况的计划。 案例研究表明,对于这些计划的环境结果的明确界定(例如, 更好的水质、较高的生物多样性)减少了其失败的可能性。 如果成功,这些类型的政策有助于农民更能适应气候变化

3. 经济

政府计划并不是我们能够为适应气候变化提供资金的唯一途径:其他组织, 包括银行和私营公司在内的各方也正在设法帮助人们适应新情况。

非洲灾害风险筹资方案通过查明气候风险和努力尽量减少自然灾害造成的财政损失来做到这一点。 这部分是通过保险计划来实现的,该保险计划在发生与气候有关的灾害时补偿农民 。 除了选择类似的计划外,农民还可以通过寻找新的办法在传统农业之外赚钱作为适应的方式。 潜在的备选办法包括旅游业或主办可再生能源项目

Image of 多样化也是一项农民可能的适应战略

多样化也是一项农民可能的适应战略

4. 分享最佳做法 - 告诉你的朋友!

在个人层面,许多农民正在通过“草根的”适应方式直面气候问题 。 这是通过邻近的农民分享解决方案并相互学习的人际关系网络实现的

在新西兰,模范农民帮助影响他人的适应方式; 在尼日尔, 农民领导重新造林使树木覆盖率增加了10倍(以抵御洪水暴发的影响),提高了产量和土壤肥力

Image of 友好型农民对农业方面的适应至关重要。

友好型农民对农业方面的适应至关重要。

下一步是在国家和国际层面与研究人员和组织交流这些想法 ,以确保农民参与影响其土地和生计的决策进程

当环境管理不善时,一些群体——即妇女、青年和土著人民会受到不成比例的影响 。 要对付这种情况, 研究表明,将这些群体纳入决策可以为人们 地球带来更好的结果。例如, 在土著人民对其土地拥有合法权利的地区,亚马逊地区的毁林率低了2至3成 。 因此,我们可以通过法律承认土著人民的权利 以及利用土著知识应对气候变化和对未来粮食安全的威胁来适应 。 在这些社区之外,为更多的妇女提供更好的培训和工具,可使发展中国家的农业产量增加2.5~4%,足以养活1亿多人

Image of 性别产量差距

性别产量差距

现在该怎么办?

我们已经了解到,我们需要人、技术和研究来帮助我们调整我们的耕作方式。 除了政府和国际银行的行动 , 我们必须确保农民对我们现在和将来如何生产粮食有发言权。 通过将科学研究和当地耕作技术结合起来,我们能够更好地理解如何支持向气候抗御性农业平稳过渡

下一章

Agriculture: Change Farming to Adapt to Climate Change

15 minute read

Updated on Sat May 08 2021

Food production is threatened by climate change. Our farming system is heavily reliant on our physical environment and, while farmers are used to climatic variability, many are already reporting difficulties due to unpredictable weather and seasonal patterns. In turn, these climatic shifts then alter the severity and distribution of weeds and crop diseases. To further increase the pressure on our food production systems, the human population is expected to exceed 9.7 billion by 2050 (See ‘The Problem with Agriculture’ Chapter, in our Food and Farming Course!). This is a clear indication that we need to act fast.

Why agriculture needs to adapt to a changing climate

How might agricultural yields change (% increase or decrease) if farmers chose to adapt their way of farming in response to climate change?


Without adaptation, climate change could reduce global crop yields by as much as 5-30% by 2050. On the other hand, farmers who adapt by changing planting times, crop varieties, and managing water supplies could increase yields by 7-15% compared to present production rates. However, it is important to keep in mind that, as the planet continues to warm (between 1 to 2°C in temperate regions and 1.5 to 3°C in tropical regions), adaptation becomes more difficult and creates fewer benefits.

Predicted yield change with and without adaptation

What might adaptation look like?

Across the world, farming can look very different - from harvesting cranberries on wetland bogs to producing milk from camels. This means there is a huge variety of ways farmers can adapt. Even simple changes can make a difference. For example, French vineyards now harvest their grapes 30 days earlier than they did 50 years ago and 41% of European winegrowers are willing to grow new varieties of grape to suit the climate.

Harvest times are changing due to climate change

Agricultural adaptation can also involve much bigger changes that affect how the farm is run - from switching to sustainable land management methods to buying insurance for crops. Big or small, these adaptive choices help make the farm more resilient to change, be that climate-related or not.

What adaptation looks like for different types of farming

When should we start?

For as long as humans have farmed, adaptation has been a way of life. Adaptation involves responding to all sorts of environmental and social changes. When it comes to climate change, we can use a similar approach by trialing solutions now and developing them as we learn. However, in places like sub-Saharan Africa, farming systems are predicted to cross tipping points in the next 5-20 years. Tipping points represent thresholds which, when crossed, result in abrupt and rapid changes in environmental conditions. If we are to avoid these points of no return, we will likely need more immediate and transformative change.

Tracking Adaptation

What are the barriers to adaptation?

What challenges do you think farmers face when adapting to climate change? Tick the answers you think represent the biggest hurdles


The most obvious barrier to adaptation is the cost. The United Nations estimates that, by 2030, it will cost $11.3 to 12.6 billion to adapt agriculture (including forestry and fisheries) to climate change. Some scientists believe this figure could be 2 to 3 times higher!

There are other challenges too, including a lack of public awareness, competition over land use between industries, and what technology is available to help farmers adapt.

How do we encourage adaptation?

1. Mad scientists or fruitful research?

There is a whole field of science dedicated to improving agricultural practices, reducing the environmental impact of farming, and making sure there is enough food for everyone. If we want to make these goals a reality, we need to fund this science. Indeed, for every US dollar invested in research on agricultural adaptation, developing regions could gain $3.7 to $5.2 back in the long-run.

Genetically Engineered (GE) crops are a brilliant example of how agricultural research can help us adapt to climate change.

Can you spot which of these climate-ready crops is not real?


GE technology has produced crops that can withstand higher temperatures, water scarcity and disease outbreaks. As well as introducing these new varieties, genetic engineering can increase the genetic diversity of a species by introducing new variants of specific genes.

GEOs can have many different properties

Data-driven research also offers promising solutions – from developing fine-tuned weather forecasts to more detailed soil maps – all of which use more accurate, real-time information to help farmers decide how best to adapt. This research is really helpful as the more information we have to make decisions, the more likely we are to make the right adaptive choices.

2. Governance and policy

Government action is part of what’s called a ‘top-down’ approach. While communities and businesses can push for change, when it comes to adaptation, governments are still in the driving seat. This is because they create laws and policies which, in turn, make it easier (or harder) for farmers to adapt.

A collaborative approach will be needed to properly adapt

Governments are also important when it comes to funding agriculture. Between 2014-16, governments gave a total of $568 billion per year to the agricultural sector. Now, more than ever, this financial support must factor in the costs of adapting the way we farm.

So, which specific policies could help? Since the 1990s, there has been a focus on schemes where governments pay land managers to improve the health of their local ecosystems. Case studies show that clearly defining the environmental outcomes of these schemes (e.g. better water quality, higher biodiversity) reduces their likelihood of failure. Where successful, these types of policies help farmers to become more resilient to climate change.

3. Economics

Government schemes are not the only way we can finance climate change adaptation: other organisations, including banks and private companies, are also finding ways to help people adapt.

The Africa Disaster Risk Financing Programme does this by identifying climate risks and working to minimise the financial losses of natural disasters. This partly works through an insurance scheme that compensates farmers in the event of a climate-related disaster. Aside from opting into similar schemes, farmers can also adapt by finding new ways to earn money outside of traditional agriculture. Potential options include tourism or hosting renewable energy projects.

Diversification is also a possible adaptation strategy for farmers

4. Sharing best practice - tell your friends!

At an individual level, many farmers are facing climate issues head-on via a ‘grassroots’ approach to adaptation. This works through networking, where neighbouring farmers share solutions and learn from each other.

In New Zealand, ‘role-model’ farmers help influence others to adapt; in Niger, farmer-led reforestation has resulted in 10 times more tree cover (to combat the effects of flash floods) plus improved yields and soil fertility.

Friendly farmers are crucial to adapt agriculture

The next step is sharing these ideas with researchers and organisations at national and international levels to ensure that farmers are part of the decision-making processes which affect their land and livelihoods.

How else might we boost agricultural productivity in order to make up for climate-related losses?


Some groups - namely women, youth and indigenous people - are disproportionately affected when environments are mismanaged. To counteract this, studies show that including these groups in decision-making can lead to better outcomes for both people and the planet. For example, deforestation in the Amazon is 2 to 3 times lower in areas where indigenous people have legal rights to their land. We can therefore adapt by legally recognising indigenous rights and using indigenous knowledge to cope with climate change and the threat to future food security. Outside of these communities, equipping more women with better training and tools could increase agricultural yields in developing countries by 2.5-4%, enough to feed over 100 million people!

The Gender Yield Gap

What now?

We have learnt that we need people, technology, and research to help us adapt the way we farm. As well as action from governments and international banks, we must make sure that farmers have a say in how we produce food, now and in the future. By combining scientific research and local farming techniques we can better understand how to support a smooth transition to climate-resilient farming.

Next Chapter