الزراعة: تغيير الزراعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ

15 minute read

تم التحديث في Sat May 08 2021

يهدد تغير المناخ إنتاج الغذاء. يعتمد نظامنا الزراعي اعتماداً شديداً على البيئة المادية وبينما اعتاد المزارعون على التقلبات المناخية، أفصح العديد عن الصعوبات الناتجة عن الطقس غير المتوقع والأنماط الموسمية. أدت التحولات المناخية هذه إلى تغير شدة وانتشار الأعشاب وأمراض المحاصيل. ومما يزيد الضغط على أنظمتنا لإنتاج الغذاء، من المتوقع أن تتخطى الكثافة السكانية حاجز 9.7 مليار بحلول عام 2050 ( انظر فصل «مشكلة الزراعة» في دورتنا عن الغذاء والزراعة!). تعتبر هذه دلالة واضحة على حاجتنا إلى العمل بسرعة.

لماذا تحتاج الزراعة إلى التكيف مع تغير المناخ

كيف يمكن للعائد الزراعي ان يتغير (% زيادة أو نقصان) في حال إختار المزارعون تكييف طريقتهم في الزراعة للإستجابة إلى تغير المناخ؟


دون عملية التكيف، يمكن لتغير المناخ أن يقلل العائد الزراعي للمحاصيل بنسبة 5-30% بحلول عام 2050. من ناحية أخرى، تكيف المزارعين عن طريق تغيير أوقات الزراعة، أصناف المحاصيل وإدارة موارد المياه يمكن أن يزيد العائد بنسبة 7-15% مقارنة بنسب الإنتاج الحالية. على أية حال، من المهم أن نضع في الاعتبار أنه ما دام الكوكب مستمر في الاحترار (بين 1 إلى 2 درجة مئوية في المناطق المعتدلة و 1.5 إلى 3 درجة مئوية في المناطق الاستوائية)، فمن
الأرجح أن يصبح التكيف أكثر صعوبة وبالتالي أقل إثمارًا.

التغيير المتوقع في العائدات مع وبدون التكيف

ما الذي قد يبدو عليه التكيف؟

قد تختلف أشكال الزراعة حول العالم - من حصاد التوت البري في الأراضي الرطبة وصولًا لإنتاج الحليب من الجمال. وهذا يعني وجود تنوّع ضخم في الطرق التي يمكن أن يتكيف المزارعين بها. حتى التغييرات البسيطة يمكن أن تحدث فارقًا، فعلى سبيل المثال، يُحصد العنب في الكروم الفرنسية أبكر بـ30 يوما مما كان عليه قبل 50 عاما، ولدى 41% من مزارعي النبيذ الأوروبيين الاستعداد لزراعة أنواع جديدة من العنب لتتناسب المناخ.

أوقات الحصاد تتغير بسبب تغير المناخ

يمكن للتكيف الزراعي أن يتضمن تغيرات كبرى من شأنها أن تؤثر على كيفية عمل المزرعة - بدءاً من الطرق المستدامة لإدارة الأراضي وصولا لشراء تأمين للمحاصيل. هذه الخيارات التكيفية ، كبيرة ً كانت أم صغيرة، تساعد في جعل المزرعة أكثر مقاومة للتغيير سواء كان الأمر متعلق بالمناخ أم لا.

كيف يبدو التكيف لمختلف أنواع الزراعة

متى ينبغي علينا أن نبدأ؟

طالما مارست البشرية الزراعة، كان التكيف سبيلاً للحياة. يشمل التكيف الاستجابة لجميع أنواع التغيرات البيئية والاجتماعية. عندما يتعلق الأمر بتغير المناخ يمكننا استخدام نهج مماثل من خلال تجربة الحلول وتطويرها بينما نتعلم في الوقت الحالي. لكن، في أماكن مثل أفريقيا، جنوب الصحراء الكبرى، من المتوقع أن تتخطى أنظمة الزراعة النقاط الحرجة في الـ 5-20 عاماً القادمة. وتمثل النقاط الحرجة الحد الأقصى الذي ينتج عن تخطيه، تغيرات مفاجئة وسريعة في الظروف البيئية. إذا أردنا تجنب نقاط اللا عودة هذه فمن الأرجح أننا سنحتاج إلى تغيير فوري تحولي.

تعقب التكيف

ما هي الحواجز التي تحول دون التكيف؟

باعتقادك، ما التحديات التي يواجهها المزارعون عند التكيف مع تغير المناخ؟ اختر الإجابات التي تعتقد أنها تمثل أكبر العقبات


أكثر العقبات وضوحاً أمام التكيف هي التكلفة. تقدر الأمم المتحدة أنه بحلول عام 2030، سيكلف تكييف الزراعة لتغير المناخ من 11.3 إلى 12.6 مليار دولار أمريكي (بما فيها الغابات ومزارع الأسماك). يعتقد بعض العلماء أن الرقم يمكن أن يكون أعلى من 2 إلى 3 أضعاف!

هناك تحديات أخرى أيضاً، بما في ذلك قلة الوعي العام، المنافسة بين الصناعات على استخدام الأراضي، و ماهية التكنولوجيا المتوفرة لمساعدة المزارعين على التكيف.

كيف يمكننا أن نشجع على التكيف؟

1. علماء مجانين أم بحث مثمر؟

هناك ميدان علمي كامل مخصص لتحسين الممارسات الزراعية، تقليل الأثر البيئي للزراعة و التأكد من توافر غذاء كافٍ للجميع. إذا أردنا أن نجعل من هذه الأهداف حقيقة فإننا بحاجة إلى تمويل هذا العلم. في الحقيقة، مقابل كل دولار أمريكي يستثمر في البحوث المتعلقة بالتكيف الزراعي، يمكن للمناطق النامية أن تكسب ما بين 3.7 و 5.2 دولار على المدى الطويل.

تعتبر المحاصيل المعدلة وراثياً (GE) مثال رائع على أنه كيف للبحوث الزراعية أن تساعدنا على التكيف مع تغير المناخ.

هل بإمكانك تحديد أي من هذه المحاصيل الجاهزة للمناخ ليست حقيقية؟


أنتجت تكنولوجيا التعديل الوراثي محاصيل قادرة على الصمود في درجات الحرارة المرتفعة وشح المياه وتفشي الأمراض. بالإضافة إلى إدخال هذه الأصناف الجديدة، يمكن للهندسة الجينية أن تزيد التنوع الجيني للأنواع من خلال إدخال متغيرات جديدة من جينات معينة.

يمكن أن يكون للكائنات المحوّرة جينيًا GEOs العديد من الخصائص المختلفة

تقدم الأبحاث القائمة على البيانات حلولاً واعدة انطلاقاً من تطوير تنبؤات جوية دقيقة إلى خرائط أكثر تفصيلاً للتربة - وجميعها تستخدم معلومات مباشرة ودقيقة لمساعدة المزارعين على اتخاذ الطريقة المثلى للتكيف. هذه الأبحاث مفيد حقاً حيث أنه كلما كانت لدينا معلومات كافية لاتخاذ القرار، أصبحنا أكثر قدرة على اتخاذ الخيار التكيفي الصائب.

2. الحكم والسياسة

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتكيف، تعد الإجراءات الحكومة جزء مما يسمى بالنهج "التنازلي". وينما تدفع المجتمعات والأعمال التجارية نحو التغيير، تبقى الحكومات عالقة في دفة القيادة. ويعود ذلك على سنهم للقوانين والسياسات التي من شأنها أن تيسير (أو تعقد) التكيف على المزارعين.

سيلزم اتباع نهج تعاوني من أجل التكيف على النحو المناسب

للحكومات دور هام ايضا عندما يتعلق الأمر بتمويل الزراعة. أنفقت الحكومات بين عامي 2014-16 ما يقارب 568 مليار دولار أمريكي سنوياً على القطاع الزراعي. الآن وأكثر من أي وقت مضى ،هذا الدعم المالي يجب أن يأخذ في الحسبان تكلفة تكييف طريقتنا في الزراعة.

إذن، ما هي السياسات المحددة التي يمكن أن تساعد؟ منذ التسعينات كان هناك تركيز على مخططات تقوم بموجبها الحكومات بدفع أجرة لمديري الأراضي بهدف تحسين صحة النظام البيئي المحلي. تظهر دراسات الحالة أن التعريف بوضوح للمخرجات البيئية لهذه المخططات ( مثال تحسين نوعية المياه، زيادة التنوع البيولوجي) تقلل احتمالية فشلها. أينما نجح ذلك، فإن هذه السياسات تساعد المزارعين على أن يصبحوا أكثر مرونة مع تغير المناخ.

3. الاقتصاد

ليست المخططات الحكومية الطريقة الوحيدة لتمويل التكيف مع تغير المناخ: بعض المنظمات بما فيها المصارف و الشركات الخاصة، ايضا تجد طرق لمساعدة الناس على التكيف.

يقوم برنامج تمويل مخاطر الكوارث في أفريقيا بذلك عن طريق التعريف بالمخاطر المناخية والعمل على تقليص الخسائر المالية الناتجة عن الكوارث الطبيعية. يعمل هذا جزئياً من خلال خطة تأمين تعوض المزارعين المتضررين من الكوارث المتعلقة بالمناخ. بصرف النظر عن اختيار مخططات مماثلة، يمكن للمزارعين التكيف من خلال إيجاد طرق جديدة لكسب المال بعيدا عن الزراعة التقليدية. تتضمن الخيارات المحتملة السياحة أو تبني مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة.

التنويع هي استراتيجية تكيف أخرى محتملة للمزارعين

4. مشاركة أفضل الممارسات - أخبر أصدقائك!

على المستوى الفردي، يصطدم العديد من المزارعين بمشاكل مناخية عند تبني نهج القاعدة الشعبية للتكيف. يعمل هذا النهج من خلال شبكات حيث يتشارك المزارعون المتجاورون الحلول ويتعلمون من بعضهم البعض.

في نيوزيلاندا، يساعد المزارعون «القدوة» في التأثير على الآخرين للتكيف; في النيجر، أثمرت عملية إعادة التشجير بقيادة المزارعين بزيادة الغطاء النباتي بمقدار 10 أضعاف (لمكافحة آثار السيول) بالإضافة إلى تحسين المحاصيل وخصوبة التربة.

المزارعين الودودين لهم دور حاسم في تكييف الزراعة

الخطوة التالية هي مشاركة هذه الأفكار مع الباحثين و المنظمات على المستوى المحلي و العالمي للتأكيد على أن المزارعين جزء من عملية صنع القرار التي ستؤثر على أرضهم و سبل عيشهم.

كيف يمكننا أيضاً أن نعزز الإنتاجية الزراعية لتعويض الخسائر المتعلقة بالمناخ؟


تتأثر بعض الفئات وبالأخص النساء والشباب والسكان الأصليون - تأثرًا غير متناسب عندما تساء إدارة البيئة. ولمواجهة ذلك، تظهر الدراسات أن إشراك هذه المجموعات في صنع القرار يمكن أن يؤدي إلى نتائج أفضل لكل من الناس و الكوكب. على سبيل المثال، تقل إزالة الأشجار في غابات الأمازون بنسبة 2 إلى 3 مرات في المناطق حيث يتمتع السكان الأصليون بسلطة قانونية على أراضيهم. لذلك بإمكاننا التكيف من خلال الاعتراف قانونيا بحقوق السكان الأصليين واستخدام المعرفة الأصلية لمواجهة تغير المناخ وتهديد الأمن الغذائي في المستقبل. فضلًا عن هذه المجتمعات، إن تجهيز العديد من النساء بأفضل التدريبات والأدوات من شأنه أن يزيد من العوائد الزراعية في الدول النامية بنسبة 2.54% وهو ما يكفي لإطعام ما يزيد عن 100 مليون شخص!

فجوة الدخل بين الجنسين

ماذا الآن؟

لقد تعلمنا أننا بحاجة للناس، التكنولوجيا و البحث العلمي لمساعدنا في التكيف في طريقة زراعتنا. فضلاً عن الإجراءات المتخذة من قبل الحكومات و المصارف الدولية، علينا التأكد أن للمزارعون رأياً في كيفية إنتاج الطعام في وقتنا الحالي و في المستقبل. عند دمج البحث العلمي مع تقنيات الزراعة المحلية يمكننا أن نفهم بشكل أفضل كيف ندعم عملية الإنتقال السلس إلى الزراعة المقاومة للمناخ.

الفصل التالي

Agriculture: Change Farming to Adapt to Climate Change

15 minute read

Updated on Sat May 08 2021

Food production is threatened by climate change. Our farming system is heavily reliant on our physical environment and, while farmers are used to climatic variability, many are already reporting difficulties due to unpredictable weather and seasonal patterns. In turn, these climatic shifts then alter the severity and distribution of weeds and crop diseases. To further increase the pressure on our food production systems, the human population is expected to exceed 9.7 billion by 2050 (See ‘The Problem with Agriculture’ Chapter, in our Food and Farming Course!). This is a clear indication that we need to act fast.

Why agriculture needs to adapt to a changing climate

How might agricultural yields change (% increase or decrease) if farmers chose to adapt their way of farming in response to climate change?


Without adaptation, climate change could reduce global crop yields by as much as 5-30% by 2050. On the other hand, farmers who adapt by changing planting times, crop varieties, and managing water supplies could increase yields by 7-15% compared to present production rates. However, it is important to keep in mind that, as the planet continues to warm (between 1 to 2°C in temperate regions and 1.5 to 3°C in tropical regions), adaptation becomes more difficult and creates fewer benefits.

Predicted yield change with and without adaptation

What might adaptation look like?

Across the world, farming can look very different - from harvesting cranberries on wetland bogs to producing milk from camels. This means there is a huge variety of ways farmers can adapt. Even simple changes can make a difference. For example, French vineyards now harvest their grapes 30 days earlier than they did 50 years ago and 41% of European winegrowers are willing to grow new varieties of grape to suit the climate.

Harvest times are changing due to climate change

Agricultural adaptation can also involve much bigger changes that affect how the farm is run - from switching to sustainable land management methods to buying insurance for crops. Big or small, these adaptive choices help make the farm more resilient to change, be that climate-related or not.

What adaptation looks like for different types of farming

When should we start?

For as long as humans have farmed, adaptation has been a way of life. Adaptation involves responding to all sorts of environmental and social changes. When it comes to climate change, we can use a similar approach by trialing solutions now and developing them as we learn. However, in places like sub-Saharan Africa, farming systems are predicted to cross tipping points in the next 5-20 years. Tipping points represent thresholds which, when crossed, result in abrupt and rapid changes in environmental conditions. If we are to avoid these points of no return, we will likely need more immediate and transformative change.

Tracking Adaptation

What are the barriers to adaptation?

What challenges do you think farmers face when adapting to climate change? Tick the answers you think represent the biggest hurdles


The most obvious barrier to adaptation is the cost. The United Nations estimates that, by 2030, it will cost $11.3 to 12.6 billion to adapt agriculture (including forestry and fisheries) to climate change. Some scientists believe this figure could be 2 to 3 times higher!

There are other challenges too, including a lack of public awareness, competition over land use between industries, and what technology is available to help farmers adapt.

How do we encourage adaptation?

1. Mad scientists or fruitful research?

There is a whole field of science dedicated to improving agricultural practices, reducing the environmental impact of farming, and making sure there is enough food for everyone. If we want to make these goals a reality, we need to fund this science. Indeed, for every US dollar invested in research on agricultural adaptation, developing regions could gain $3.7 to $5.2 back in the long-run.

Genetically Engineered (GE) crops are a brilliant example of how agricultural research can help us adapt to climate change.

Can you spot which of these climate-ready crops is not real?


GE technology has produced crops that can withstand higher temperatures, water scarcity and disease outbreaks. As well as introducing these new varieties, genetic engineering can increase the genetic diversity of a species by introducing new variants of specific genes.

GEOs can have many different properties

Data-driven research also offers promising solutions – from developing fine-tuned weather forecasts to more detailed soil maps – all of which use more accurate, real-time information to help farmers decide how best to adapt. This research is really helpful as the more information we have to make decisions, the more likely we are to make the right adaptive choices.

2. Governance and policy

Government action is part of what’s called a ‘top-down’ approach. While communities and businesses can push for change, when it comes to adaptation, governments are still in the driving seat. This is because they create laws and policies which, in turn, make it easier (or harder) for farmers to adapt.

A collaborative approach will be needed to properly adapt

Governments are also important when it comes to funding agriculture. Between 2014-16, governments gave a total of $568 billion per year to the agricultural sector. Now, more than ever, this financial support must factor in the costs of adapting the way we farm.

So, which specific policies could help? Since the 1990s, there has been a focus on schemes where governments pay land managers to improve the health of their local ecosystems. Case studies show that clearly defining the environmental outcomes of these schemes (e.g. better water quality, higher biodiversity) reduces their likelihood of failure. Where successful, these types of policies help farmers to become more resilient to climate change.

3. Economics

Government schemes are not the only way we can finance climate change adaptation: other organisations, including banks and private companies, are also finding ways to help people adapt.

The Africa Disaster Risk Financing Programme does this by identifying climate risks and working to minimise the financial losses of natural disasters. This partly works through an insurance scheme that compensates farmers in the event of a climate-related disaster. Aside from opting into similar schemes, farmers can also adapt by finding new ways to earn money outside of traditional agriculture. Potential options include tourism or hosting renewable energy projects.

Diversification is also a possible adaptation strategy for farmers

4. Sharing best practice - tell your friends!

At an individual level, many farmers are facing climate issues head-on via a ‘grassroots’ approach to adaptation. This works through networking, where neighbouring farmers share solutions and learn from each other.

In New Zealand, ‘role-model’ farmers help influence others to adapt; in Niger, farmer-led reforestation has resulted in 10 times more tree cover (to combat the effects of flash floods) plus improved yields and soil fertility.

Friendly farmers are crucial to adapt agriculture

The next step is sharing these ideas with researchers and organisations at national and international levels to ensure that farmers are part of the decision-making processes which affect their land and livelihoods.

How else might we boost agricultural productivity in order to make up for climate-related losses?


Some groups - namely women, youth and indigenous people - are disproportionately affected when environments are mismanaged. To counteract this, studies show that including these groups in decision-making can lead to better outcomes for both people and the planet. For example, deforestation in the Amazon is 2 to 3 times lower in areas where indigenous people have legal rights to their land. We can therefore adapt by legally recognising indigenous rights and using indigenous knowledge to cope with climate change and the threat to future food security. Outside of these communities, equipping more women with better training and tools could increase agricultural yields in developing countries by 2.5-4%, enough to feed over 100 million people!

The Gender Yield Gap

What now?

We have learnt that we need people, technology, and research to help us adapt the way we farm. As well as action from governments and international banks, we must make sure that farmers have a say in how we produce food, now and in the future. By combining scientific research and local farming techniques we can better understand how to support a smooth transition to climate-resilient farming.

Next Chapter